Skip to main content

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 5969Assets $3.5B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank advertises 1.48% APY on its Loyalty Rewards Savings account. The 1.48% applies to balances up to $100,000. A larger balance earns 0.07% on the whole amount.

A checking account at the bank is required. That is 1.10 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #363 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #244.

Estimate your earnings·What The Farmers & Merchants State Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY1.48% · Loyalty Rewards Savings · up to $100,000 only · checking account required
Minimum to open$0 · Loyalty Rewards Savings
Against the national average1.10 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.50% · 9 months · 9-Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 9 months CD
The Farmers & Merchants State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate5969 · Archbold, OH
Websitewww.fm.bank
Branches39 branches in IN, MI, OH
AvailabilityAvailable in IN, MI, OH
Rates

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank savings and CD rates

1.48% APY
Loyalty Rewards Savings
On balances up to $100,000 · 0.07% above
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

1.48% APY on balances $0 - $100,000
0.07% APY on balances $100,000+
This rate is paid only on the portion of the daily balance above $100,000.
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to1.36% APY
Direct Savings
Needs at least $500,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.92% APY on balances $0 - $99,999.99
1.03% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.24% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
1.36% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.50% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
9 months3.50%$1,0009-Month CD Special
18 months3.50%$1,00018-Month CD Special
27 months3.50%$1,00027-Month CD Special
36 months3.50%$1,00036-Month CD Special

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Farmers & Merchants State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.48% ($0 - $100,000), 0.07% ($100,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$561.80(3.9%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,561.80

Effective APY
1.48%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Farmers & Merchants State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.74%
Q2 2026 ·
1.48% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.48% applies to balances up to $100,000. A larger balance earns 0.07% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, The Farmers & Merchants State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 90% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.48%
Q2 2026 ·
$2.9B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
17.8%
Q2 2026
$3.5B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Farmers & Merchants State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Loyalty Rewards Savings1.48%$0$0$100,000not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered
Direct Savings1.36%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
9-Month CD Special9 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
18-Month CD Special18 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
27-Month CD Special27 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD Special36 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IN, MI, OH
Footprint39 branches in IN, MI, OH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Farmers & Merchants State Bank behaves over time

12-month high
1.58%
12-month low
1.48%
Advertised now
1.48%
0.10 percentage points below the 12-month high

The advertised Loyalty Rewards Savings rate, observed through Sep 16, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Loyalty Rewards Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
9 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.48% APY The Farmers & Merchants State Bank advertises on Loyalty Rewards Savings grows to $10,148 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,814 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • Loyalty Rewards Savings APY
  • Banksparency savings index
The Farmers & Merchants State Bank Loyalty Rewards Savings advertised APY, as observed, Aug 2026 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index.

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is The Farmers & Merchants State Bank?

HeadquartersArchbold, OH
Founded1897
Scale$3.5B assets · $2.9B deposits, $2.4B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 5969

Financial detail is in What The Farmers & Merchants State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Farmers & Merchants State Bank

Is The Farmers & Merchants State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Farmers & Merchants State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 5969, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Farmers & Merchants State Bank?

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Loyalty Rewards Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.48% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.48% applies to balances up to $100,000. A larger balance earns 0.07% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does The Farmers & Merchants State Bank have branches?

Yes. The Farmers & Merchants State Bank operates 39 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Farmers & Merchants State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Farmers & Merchants State Bank1.48%2.74%$039 branches in IN, MI, OH
American Bank1.50%3.86%$11 branch in PA
Citizens Bank1.50%1.32%$1,00011 branches in WI
Dundee Bank3.50%3.29%$50,0004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Farmers & Merchants State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates