Skip to main content

The Clinton National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 4439Assets $396M (Q2 2026)Rate change observed Sep 3, 2026Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

The Clinton National Bank advertises 0.05% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1008 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #956.

Estimate your earnings·What The Clinton National Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Clinton National Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.05% · Regular Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Regular Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 8 months · 8 Month Certificate
Minimum to open$500 · 8 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.15% · CNB Money Market/ Savings · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to opennot stated · CNB Money Market/ Savings
Against the national average0.48 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
The Clinton National Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate4439 · Clinton, IA
Websitewww.clintonnational.com
Branches9 branches in IA
AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Rates

The Clinton National Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.30% APY
CNB Health Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $15,000

How the rate applies

3.05% APY on balances $0 - $14,999
3.30% APY on balances $15,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
CNB Money Market/ Savings
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $999
0.01% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999
0.10% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999
0.15% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.05% APY
Regular Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 8 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

IRA

0.35% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Clinton National Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.15%$5003 Month Certificate
6 months0.35%$5006 Month Certificate
8 months3.75%$5008 Month Certificate
9 months0.30%$5009 Month Certificate
12 months0.45%$50012 Month Certificate
18 months0.50%$50018 Month Certificate
24 months0.60%$50024 Month Certificate
36 months0.65%$50036 Month Certificate
48 months0.70%$50048 Month Certificate
60 months0.75%$50060 Month Certificate
IRA CDs
18 months0.35%$50018 Month Variable Rate IRA Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Clinton National Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 3.05% ($0 - $14,999), 3.30% ($15,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,182.60(7.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,182.60

Effective APY
3.05%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Clinton National Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.58%
Q2 2026 ·
0.05% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, The Clinton National Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 17% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.56%
Q2 2026 ·
$341M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
17.8%
Q2 2026
$396M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Clinton National Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
CNB Health Savings3.30%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Regular Savings0.05%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
CNB Money Market/ Savings0.15%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month Certificate3 months0.15%$500not statednot stated
6 Month Certificate6 months0.35%$500not statednot stated
8 Month Certificate8 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
9 Month Certificate9 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
12 Month Certificate12 months0.45%$500not statednot stated
18 Month Certificate18 months0.50%$500not statednot stated
24 Month Certificate24 months0.60%$500not statednot stated
36 Month Certificate36 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
48 Month Certificate48 months0.70%$500not statednot stated
60 Month Certificate60 months0.75%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
18 Month Variable Rate IRA Certificate18 months0.35%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Footprint9 branches in IA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Clinton National Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Banksparency observed no cuts to The Clinton National Bank's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 3 Federal Reserve cuts.

Recent rate changes, as observed

  • Obs. Sep 3, 20268 Month CertificateRaise:3.00%to3.75%
Regular Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
8 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
CNB Money Market/ Savings
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY The Clinton National Bank advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Clinton National Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is The Clinton National Bank?

HeadquartersClinton, IA
Founded1865
Scale$396M assets · $341M deposits, $280M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 4439

Financial detail is in What The Clinton National Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Clinton National Bank

Is The Clinton National Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Clinton National Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 4439, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Clinton National Bank?

The Clinton National Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The Clinton National Bank have branches?

Yes. The Clinton National Bank operates 9 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Clinton National Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Clinton National Bank3.30%0.58%not stated9 branches in IA
Synchrony Bank3.30%3.35%$02 branches in FL, UT
Blue Ridge Bank and Trust Co.3.28%1.51%$15,0008 branches in MO
Cornhusker Bank3.66%1.48%$1,0009 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Clinton National Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates