Skip to main content

Summit State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 32203Assets $960M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Summit State Bank advertises up to 0.40% APY on its Personal Savings account. The 0.40% needs a balance of at least $25,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.10% overall, about $10 in a year, which is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #831 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1376.

Estimate your earnings·What Summit State Bank actually pays

Key facts

Summit State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.40% · Personal Savings · needs at least $25,000
Minimum to opennot stated · Personal Savings
Against the national average0.03 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.27% · 3 months · 90 Day CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.14 percentage points above the 1.13% FDIC 3-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.35% · Personal Money Market · needs at least $2,500
Minimum to opennot stated · Personal Money Market
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Summit State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate32203 · Santa Rosa, CA
Websitewww.summitstatebank.com
Branches4 branches in CA
AvailabilityAvailable in CA
Rates

Summit State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.40% APY
Personal Savings
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $199.99
0.10% APY on balances $200 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.35% APY
Personal Money Market
Needs at least $2,500

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.35% APY on balances $2,500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.27% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

2.72% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

Up to0.50% APY
Business Savings
Needs at least $25,000

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $199.99
0.10% APY on balances $200 - $24,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.40% APY
Business Money Market
Needs at least $2,500

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.40% APY on balances $2,500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Summit State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1 months0.10%$1,00030 Day CD
3 months3.27%$1,00090 Day CD
6 months3.22%$1,0006 Month CD
9 months3.17%$1,0009 Month CD
12 months3.07%$1,0001 Year CD
18 months3.00%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months2.50%$1,0002 Year CD
36 months2.50%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months2.50%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months2.50%$1,0005 Year CD
IRA CDs
6 months2.72%$1,000IRA 6 Month CD
12 months2.57%$1,000IRA 1 Year CD
24 months2.00%$1,000IRA 24 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Summit State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.00% ($0 - $199.99), 0.10% ($200 - $24,999.99), 0.50% ($25,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Summit State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.52%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.40% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.40% needs a balance of at least $25,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q2 2026, Summit State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 85% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.73%
Q2 2026 ·
$846M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
22.0%
Q2 2026
$960M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Summit State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Personal Savings0.40%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Personal Money Market0.35%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Savings0.50%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business Money Market0.40%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
30 Day CD1 months0.10%$1,000not statednot stated
90 Day CD3 months3.27%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.22%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.17%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.07%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
IRA 6 Month CD6 months2.72%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 1 Year CD12 months2.57%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA 24 Month CD24 months2.00%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CA
Footprint4 branches in CA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Summit State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Personal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.40% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Personal Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Personal Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 3, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.40% APY Summit State Bank advertises on Personal Savings grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,710 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Summit State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Summit State Bank?

HeadquartersSanta Rosa, CA
Founded1982
Scale$960M assets · $846M deposits, $660M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 32203

Financial detail is in What Summit State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Summit State Bank

Does the 0.40% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.40% needs a balance of at least $25,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Is Summit State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Summit State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 32203, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Does Summit State Bank have branches?

Yes. Summit State Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Summit State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Summit State Bank0.50%2.52%not stated4 branches in CA
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.05%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%0.59%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%0.23%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Summit State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates