State Bank of India (California) savings, CD and money market rates
State Bank of India (California) advertises up to 0.35% APY on its Hi Yield Advantage Savings account. The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.15%.
On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.30% overall, about $30 in a year, which is 0.08 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #696 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #619.
Estimate your earnings·What State Bank of India (California) actually pays
State Bank of India (California) at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | Up to 0.35% · Hi Yield Advantage Savings · needs at least $100,000 |
| Minimum to open | $500 · Hi Yield Advantage Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.03 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.00% · 4 months · 4 Month CD Special |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 4 months CD |
| Against the national average | 2.86 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 0.35% · Money Market Deposit Account (MMDA) · needs at least $250,000 |
| Minimum to open | $500 · Money Market Deposit Account (MMDA) |
| Against the national average | 0.28 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 23998 · Los Angeles, CA |
|---|---|
| Website | www.sbical.com |
| Branches | 8 branches in CA |
| Availability | Available in CA |
State Bank of India (California) savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Business
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
State Bank of India (California) CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 1-3 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | 1-3 Month CD |
| 2 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | 2 Month CD Special |
| 3-6 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | 3-6 Month CD |
| 3 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | 3 Month CD Special |
| 4 months | 4.00% | $1,000 | 4 Month CD Special |
| 6-9 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | 6-9 Month CD |
| 9-12 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | 9-12 Month CD |
| 12-18 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | 12-18 Month CD |
| 18-24 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | 18-24 Month CD |
| 24-36 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 24-36 Month CD |
| 36-48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 36-48 Month CD |
| 48-60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 48-60 Month CD |
| 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | Over 60 Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 12 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | 1 Year IRA CD |
| 24 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | 2 Year IRA CD |
| 36 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 3 Year IRA CD |
| 48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 4 Year IRA CD |
| 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 5 Year IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for State Bank of India (California)
All calculations are based on APY.
Tiered rates: 0.15% to 0.35% APY across 4 balance tiers.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$98.10(0.7%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,098.10
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What State Bank of India (California) pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.15%.
In Q2 2026, State Bank of India (California) paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 93% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- State Bank of India (California), savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Hi Yield Advantage Savings | 0.35% | $500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Personal Savings Account | 0.30% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Personal Savings Online | 0.30% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Regular Personal Savings Account | 0.30% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Money Market Deposit Account (MMDA) | 0.35% | $500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Premium Money Market Deposit Account (MMDA) | 0.35% | $100,000 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Hi Yield Advantage MMDA | 0.35% | $500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | Tiered | |
| Vision MMDA | 0.30% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Savings Account | 0.30% | $500 | $0 | None | not stated | None | One rate | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 1-3 Month CD | 1-3 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Month CD Special | 2 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3-6 Month CD | 3-6 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Month CD Special | 3 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Month CD Special | 4 months | 4.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6-9 Month CD | 6-9 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 9-12 Month CD | 9-12 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12-18 Month CD | 12-18 months | 3.75% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18-24 Month CD | 18-24 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24-36 Month CD | 24-36 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36-48 Month CD | 36-48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48-60 Month CD | 48-60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Over 60 Month CD | 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 1 Year IRA CD | 12 months | 3.85% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year IRA CD | 24 months | 3.50% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year IRA CD | 36 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year IRA CD | 48 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year IRA CD | 60 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in CA |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 8 branches in CA |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How State Bank of India (California) behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Hi Yield Advantage Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.35% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Hi Yield Advantage Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 4 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market Deposit Account (MMDA)
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 28, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.35% APY State Bank of India (California) advertises on Hi Yield Advantage Savings grows to $10,035 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,705 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
State Bank of India (California) CD rates over time
Who is State Bank of India (California)?
| Headquarters | Los Angeles, CA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1982 |
| Scale | $1.4B assets · $1.2B deposits, $1.1B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 23998 |
Financial detail is in What State Bank of India (California) pays on deposits above.
Common questions about State Bank of India (California)
Is State Bank of India (California) FDIC insured?
Yes. State Bank of India (California) is FDIC insured under certificate 23998, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at State Bank of India (California)?
State Bank of India (California) requires a minimum deposit of $500 to open its Hi Yield Advantage Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.35% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.15%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.
Does State Bank of India (California) have branches?
Yes. State Bank of India (California) operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
State Bank of India (California) against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| State Bank of India (California) | 0.35% | 2.95% | $100,000 | 8 branches in CA |
| AVB Bank | 0.35% | 0.97% | not stated | 4 branches in OK |
| Farmers National Bank | 0.85% | 1.10% | not stated | 4 branches in IL |
| Farmers Trust and Savings Bank | 1.41% | 2.47% | $100 | 1 branch in IA |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to State Bank of India (California)'s.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.