Skip to main content

PlainsCapital Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 17491Assets $12.7B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

PlainsCapital Bank advertises 2.00% APY on its Momentum Max Savings Account. That is 1.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #261 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #180. It was #118 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 21 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What PlainsCapital Bank actually pays

Key facts

PlainsCapital Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.00% · Momentum Max Savings Account
Minimum to opennot stated · Momentum Max Savings Account
Against the national average1.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.19% · 3 months · 90 Day CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 3 months CD
Against the national average2.05 percentage points above the 1.14% FDIC 3-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.07% · Personal Money Market · needs at least $7,500,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Personal Money Market
Against the national average2.44 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
PlainsCapital Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate17491 · University Park, TX
Websitewww.plainscapital.com
Branches57 branches in TX
AvailabilityAvailable in TX
Rates

PlainsCapital Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.07% APY
Personal Money Market
Needs at least $7,500,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.66% APY on balances $2,500 - $4,999.99
1.71% APY on balances $5,000 - $24,999.99
1.81% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
1.92% APY on balances $100,000 - $499,999.99
2.12% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
2.27% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $1,999,999.99
2.32% APY on balances $2,000,000 - $4,999,999.99
2.68% APY on balances $5,000,000 - $7,499,999.99
3.07% APY on balances $7,500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
2.00% APY
Momentum Max Savings Account
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.25% APY
LegacyAccess Account
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.19% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

2.98% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

0.25% APY
Business Interest Account
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.19% APY
Highest CD · 3 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

PlainsCapital Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1 months2.02%$1,00030 Day CD
2 months2.78%$1,00060 Day CD
3 months3.19%$1,00090 Day CD
6 months3.07%$1,000180 Day CD
12 months2.98%$1,0001 Year CD
24 months2.83%$1,0002 Year CD
36 months2.78%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months2.67%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months2.62%$1,0005 Year CD
IRA CDs
12 months2.98%$1001 Year IRA
24 months2.83%$1002 Year IRA
36 months2.78%$1003 Year IRA
48 months2.67%$1004 Year IRA
60 months2.62%$1005 Year IRA
Business CDs
1 months2.02%$1,000Business 30 Day CD
2 months2.78%$1,000Business 60 Day CD
3 months3.19%$1,000Business 90 Day CD
6 months3.07%$1,000Business 180 Day CD
12 months2.98%$1,000Business 1 Year CD
24 months2.83%$1,000Business 2 Year CD
36 months2.78%$1,000Business 3 Year CD
48 months2.67%$1,000Business 4 Year CD
60 months2.62%$1,000Business 5 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for PlainsCapital Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$764.20(5.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,764.20

Effective APY
2.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What PlainsCapital Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.81%
Q2 2026 ·
2.00% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, PlainsCapital Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 91% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.51%
Q2 2026 ·
$10.7B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
26.3%
Q2 2026
$12.7B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • PlainsCapital Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Momentum Max Savings Account2.00%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
LegacyAccess Account0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Personal Money Market3.07%$2,500$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Interest Account0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
30 Day CD1 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Day CD2 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
90 Day CD3 months3.19%$1,000not statednot stated
180 Day CD6 months3.07%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months2.98%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months2.83%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.67%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.62%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
1 Year IRA12 months2.98%$100not statednot stated
2 Year IRA24 months2.83%$100not statednot stated
3 Year IRA36 months2.78%$100not statednot stated
4 Year IRA48 months2.67%$100not statednot stated
5 Year IRA60 months2.62%$100not statednot stated
Business CDs
Business 30 Day CD1 months2.02%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 60 Day CD2 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 90 Day CD3 months3.19%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 180 Day CD6 months3.07%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 1 Year CD12 months2.98%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 2 Year CD24 months2.83%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 3 Year CD36 months2.78%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 4 Year CD48 months2.67%$1,000not statednot stated
Business 5 Year CD60 months2.62%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in TX
Footprint57 branches in TX
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How PlainsCapital Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Momentum Max Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 2.00% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

PlainsCapital Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 21 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Momentum Max Savings Account
The same as 90 days ago.
3 months CD
The same as 90 days ago.
Personal Money Market
The same as 90 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 19, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.00% APY PlainsCapital Bank advertises on Momentum Max Savings Account grows to $10,200 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,868 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

PlainsCapital Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is PlainsCapital Bank?

HeadquartersUniversity Park, TX
Founded1955
Scale$12.7B assets · $10.7B deposits, $7.9B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 17491

Financial detail is in What PlainsCapital Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about PlainsCapital Bank

Is PlainsCapital Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. PlainsCapital Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 17491, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Does PlainsCapital Bank have branches?

Yes. PlainsCapital Bank operates 57 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

PlainsCapital Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
PlainsCapital Bank3.07%2.81%$2,50057 branches in TX
Bank Michigan3.75%2.12%$25,0003 branches in MI
Century Bank2.05%0.77%$15,0009 branches in NM
Eagle Bank3.49%2.30%$20,0006 branches in MA, ME

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to PlainsCapital Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates