Skip to main content

Piscataqua Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 17443Assets $381M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

Piscataqua Savings Bank advertises 0.25% APY on its Christmas/Vacation Clubs account. That is 0.13 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #539 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #457.

Estimate your earnings·What Piscataqua Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Piscataqua Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Christmas/Vacation Clubs
Minimum to open$1 · Christmas/Vacation Clubs
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.08% · 36 months · 3 Year CD
Minimum to open$500 · 36 months CD
Against the national average2.74 percentage points above the 1.34% FDIC 36-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.05% · Money Market Account · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Money Market Account
Against the national average2.42 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Piscataqua Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate17443 · Portsmouth, NH
Websitewww.piscataqua.com
Branches1 branch in NH
AvailabilityAvailable in NH
Rates

Piscataqua Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.56% APY
Kids' Bank Savings Account
Youth Savings
On balances up to $4,999.99 · 0.53% above
$0 minimum

How the rate applies

3.56% APY on balances $0 - $4,999.99
0.53% APY on balances $5,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
Up to3.05% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $1,000,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.01% APY on balances $2,500 - $49,999.99
1.26% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
1.77% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
2.53% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.05% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.30% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.20% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.25% APY
Christmas/Vacation Clubs
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.25% APY
Passbook/Statement Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
4.08% APY
Highest CD · 36 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

IRA

2.50% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Piscataqua Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.00%$2,50091 Day CD
6 months3.00%$2,5006 Month CD
12 months3.41%$5001 Year CD
18 months3.56%$5001 1/2 Year CD
24 months3.82%$5002 Year CD
36 months4.08%$5003 Year CD
60 months4.08%$5005 Year CD
60 months3.41%$250Kids' Bank Variable Rate 5 Year CD
IRA CDs
18 months2.50%$101 1/2 Year Variable IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Piscataqua Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 3.56% ($0 - $4,999.99), 0.53% ($5,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$333.50(2.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,333.50

Effective APY
0.89%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Piscataqua Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.26%
Q1 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Piscataqua Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 49% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$299M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
2.6%
Q1 2026
$381M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Piscataqua Savings Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Kids' Bank Savings Account3.56%$0$0$4,999.99not statednot statedTiered
Health Savings Account0.30%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Christmas/Vacation Clubs0.25%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook/Statement Savings0.25%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Account3.05%$2,500$2,500Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.00%$2,500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.41%$500not statednot stated
1 1/2 Year CD18 months3.56%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.82%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months4.08%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months4.08%$500not statednot stated
Kids' Bank Variable Rate 5 Year CD60 months3.41%$250not statednot stated
IRA CDs
1 1/2 Year Variable IRA18 months2.50%$10not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NH
Footprint1 branch in NH
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Piscataqua Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Christmas/Vacation Clubs rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Christmas/Vacation Clubs
The same as 7 days ago.
36 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 18, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY Piscataqua Savings Bank advertises on Christmas/Vacation Clubs grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,699 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Piscataqua Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Piscataqua Savings Bank?

HeadquartersPortsmouth, NH
Founded1877
Scale$381M assets · $299M deposits, $291M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 17443

Financial detail is in What Piscataqua Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Piscataqua Savings Bank

Is Piscataqua Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Piscataqua Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 17443, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Piscataqua Savings Bank?

Piscataqua Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $1 to open its Christmas/Vacation Clubs account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Piscataqua Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Piscataqua Savings Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Piscataqua Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Piscataqua Savings Bank3.56%2.26%$01 branch in NH
Bogota Savings Bank3.56%3.33%$1008 branches in NJ
The North Country Savings Bank3.56%1.59%$508 branches in NY
Farmers & Merchants Bank3.55%2.58%$255 branches in OH

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Piscataqua Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates