North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago savings, CD and money market rates
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago advertises 0.07% APY on its Super Passbook Savings account. The 0.07% needs a balance of at least $2,500. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%.
That is 0.31 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #1281 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1202.
Estimate your earnings·What North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago actually pays
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.07% · Super Passbook Savings · needs at least $2,500 |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · Super Passbook Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.31 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.00% · 8 months · 8 Month Special |
| Minimum to open | $2,000 · 8 months CD |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 0.30% · Personal Money Market · needs at least $75,000 |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · Personal Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.33 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 29449 · Chicago, IL |
|---|---|
| Website | www.northsidefederal.com |
| Branches | 1 branch in IL |
| Availability | Available in IL |
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
How the rate applies
IRA
Business
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | 6 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 8 months | 3.00% | $2,000 | 8 Month Special |
| 12 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | 12 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 18 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | 18 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 24 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | 24 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 30 months | 1.75% | $2,000 | 30 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 36 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | 36 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 48 months | 1.75% | $2,000 | 48 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 60 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | 60 Month Certificate of Deposit |
| 96 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | 96 Month Certificate of Deposit |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago
All calculations are based on APY.
Minimum balance for higher APY: $2,500
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$85.90(0.6%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,085.90
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.07% needs a balance of at least $2,500. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%.
In Q2 2026, North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 2% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Super Passbook Savings | 0.07% | $2,500 | $0 | None | Choose from a number of accounts with low minimum balances, no monthly fees, and competitive rates | not stated | Tiered | |
| Holiday Account | 0.03% | $5 | $0 | None | Choose from a number of accounts with low minimum balances, no monthly fees, and competitive rates | not stated | One rate | |
| Minor Passbook | 0.03% | not stated | $0 | None | Choose from a number of accounts with low minimum balances, no monthly fees, and competitive rates | not stated | One rate | |
| Children's Account | 0.03% | $5 | $0 | None | Choose from a number of accounts with low minimum balances, no monthly fees, and competitive rates | not stated | One rate | |
| Passbook/Statement Savings | 0.03% | $50 | $0 | None | Choose from a number of accounts with low minimum balances, no monthly fees, and competitive rates | not stated | One rate | |
| Personal Money Market | 0.30% | $2,500 | $2,500 | None | Maintenance Fee for low balance account: $15.00 (if account falls below minimum balance anytime during monthly statement cycle) | not stated | Tiered | |
| IRA | ||||||||
| IRA Account | 0.25% | not stated | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Business | ||||||||
| Business Money Market | 0.30% | not stated | $2,500 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Month Certificate of Deposit | 6 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 8 Month Special | 8 months | 3.00% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month Certificate of Deposit | 12 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month Certificate of Deposit | 18 months | 0.25% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month Certificate of Deposit | 24 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month Certificate of Deposit | 30 months | 1.75% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Month Certificate of Deposit | 36 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Month Certificate of Deposit | 48 months | 1.75% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Month Certificate of Deposit | 60 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 96 Month Certificate of Deposit | 96 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in IL |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 1 branch in IL |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Super Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.07% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Super Passbook Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 8 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Personal Money Market
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 28, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.07% APY North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago advertises on Super Passbook Savings grows to $10,007 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,678 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago CD rates over time
Who is North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago?
| Headquarters | Chicago, IL |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1934 |
| Scale | $42M assets · $35M deposits, $26M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 29449 |
Financial detail is in What North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago pays on deposits above.
Common questions about North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago
Is North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago FDIC insured?
Yes. North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago is FDIC insured under certificate 29449, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago?
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago requires a minimum deposit of $2,500 to open its Super Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.07% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.07% needs a balance of at least $2,500. Below that, the account advertises 0.03%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.
Does North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago have branches?
Yes. North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago | 0.30% | 0.08% | not stated | 1 branch in IL |
| Ambler Savings Bank | 1.25% | 1.59% | $50 | 7 branches in PA |
| Compass Savings Bank | 0.30% | not stated | $25 | 1 branch in PA |
| Farmers and Merchants Bank | 0.50% | 3.09% | $5 | 12 branches in NE |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to North Side Federal Savings and Loan Association of Chicago's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.