Skip to main content

First State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 57910Assets $72M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 19, 2026

First State Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Regular Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1128 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1039.

Estimate your earnings·What First State Bank actually pays

Key facts

First State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Regular Savings
Minimum to open$5 · Regular Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.11% · 25 months · 25-Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 25 months CD
Against the national average2.54 percentage points above the 1.57% FDIC 24-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.50% · Money Market Savings · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$100 · Money Market Savings
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate57910 · Nashua, IA
Websitewww.fsb-nashua.com
Branches1 branch in IA
AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Rates

First State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.50% APY
Money Market Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $100 - $2,499.99
0.15% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $50,000 - $74,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $75,000 - $99,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
0.10% APY
Regular Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
4.11% APY
Highest CD · 25 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

IRA

2.52% APY
IRA Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026
3.39% APY
Highest CD · term not stated
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 19, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
not stated1.56%$25College Fund CD
3 months1.31%$1,00091-Day CD
6 months1.41%$1,000182-Day CD
12 months1.51%$1,00012-Month CD
13 months4.11%$1,00013-Month CD
18 months1.56%$1,00018-Month CD
24 months1.66%$1,00024-Month CD
25 months4.11%$1,00025-Month CD
36 months1.66%$1,00036-Month CD
48 months1.66%$1,00048-Month CD
60 months1.66%$1,00060-Month CD
IRA CDs
not stated3.39%$100IRA Certificate of Deposit

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Regular Savings0.10% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.37%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 19, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, First State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 47% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.91%
Q2 2026 ·
$62M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
28.5%
Q2 2026
$72M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Regular Savings0.10%$5$5Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Savings0.50%$100$100Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings2.52%$100$100Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
College Fund CDnot stated1.56%$25not statednot stated
91-Day CD3 months1.31%$1,000not statednot stated
182-Day CD6 months1.41%$1,000not statednot stated
12-Month CD12 months1.51%$1,000not statednot stated
13-Month CD13 months4.11%$1,000not statednot stated
18-Month CD18 months1.56%$1,000not statednot stated
24-Month CD24 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
25-Month CD25 months4.11%$1,000not statednot stated
36-Month CD36 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
IRA Certificate of Depositnot stated3.39%$100not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IA
Footprint1 branch in IA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Regular Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 19, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Regular Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
25 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 19, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY First State Bank advertises on Regular Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First State Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is First State Bank?

HeadquartersNashua, IA
Founded2005
Scale$72M assets · $62M deposits, $44M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 57910

Financial detail is in What First State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First State Bank

Is First State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. First State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 57910, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First State Bank?

First State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $5 to open its Regular Savings account, as observed on Sep 19, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First State Bank have branches?

Yes. First State Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First State Bank2.52%1.37%$1001 branch in IA
Alliance Bank1.00%1.33%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%2.69%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates