Skip to main content

First Northern Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 7675Assets $921M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

First Northern Bank and Trust Company advertises 0.25% APY on its Royal Savings account. That is 0.13 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #798 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #681.

Estimate your earnings·What First Northern Bank and Trust Company actually pays

Key facts

First Northern Bank and Trust Company at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Royal Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$1,000 · Royal Savings
Against the national average0.13 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.70% · 9 months · 9 Month CD
Minimum to open$10,000 · 9 months CD
Money market
Top money market APY0.05% · Consumer Money Market Savings
Minimum to open$2,500 · Consumer Money Market Savings
Against the national average0.58 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First Northern Bank and Trust Company bank facts
FDIC certificate7675 · Palmerton, PA
Websitewww.1stnorthern.bank
Branches11 branches in PA
AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Rates

First Northern Bank and Trust Company savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

0.25% APY
Royal Savings
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.20% APY
Kid's Statement Savings
Youth Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.20% APY
Paperless Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $200 - $49,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Student Savings
Student Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
All Purpose Club
Club Savings
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Statement Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Consumer Money Market Savings
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.70% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.00% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

0.05% APY
Business Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Northern Bank and Trust Company CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months0.75%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months1.00%$1,000182 Day CD
9 months3.70%$10,0009 Month CD
12 months1.50%$1,0001 Year CD
24 months3.00%$1,0002 Year CD
30 months3.00%$1,0002½ Year CD
36 months3.00%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months2.50%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months2.50%$1,0005 Year CD
60 months2.50%$1,0005 Year Kid's CD
60 months2.50%$1,0005 Year Royal CD
IRA CDs
3 months0.75%$1,00091 Day IRA
6 months1.00%$1,000182 Day IRA
12 months1.50%$1,0001 Year IRA
24 months3.00%$1,0002 Year IRA
36 months3.00%$1,0003 Year IRA
48 months2.50%$1,0004 Year IRA
60 months2.50%$1,0005 Year IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Northern Bank and Trust Company

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Northern Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.12%
Q2 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, First Northern Bank and Trust Company paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 2% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.85%
Q2 2026 ·
$762M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
33.5%
Q2 2026
$921M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • First Northern Bank and Trust Company, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Royal Savings0.25%$1,000$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Kid's Statement Savings0.20%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Paperless Savings0.20%$25$200Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Student Savings0.15%$25$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
All Purpose Club0.10%$20$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Club0.10%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Consumer Money Market Savings0.05%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Statement Savings0.05%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.70%$10,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months1.50%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
2½ Year CD30 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year Kid's CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year Royal CD60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
91 Day IRA3 months0.75%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day IRA6 months1.00%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year IRA12 months1.50%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year IRA24 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year IRA36 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year IRA48 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year IRA60 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Footprint11 branches in PA
EligibilityMust maintain a Royal or Royal Blue Checking account to qualify for this account.
Behavior

How First Northern Bank and Trust Company behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Royal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Royal Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
9 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Consumer Money Market Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 26, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY First Northern Bank and Trust Company advertises on Royal Savings grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,695 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First Northern Bank and Trust Company CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First Northern Bank and Trust Company?

HeadquartersPalmerton, PA
Founded1907
Scale$921M assets · $762M deposits, $506M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 7675

Financial detail is in What First Northern Bank and Trust Company pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Northern Bank and Trust Company

Is First Northern Bank and Trust Company FDIC insured?

Yes. First Northern Bank and Trust Company is FDIC insured under certificate 7675, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Northern Bank and Trust Company?

First Northern Bank and Trust Company requires a minimum deposit of $1,000 to open its Royal Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First Northern Bank and Trust Company have branches?

Yes. First Northern Bank and Trust Company operates 11 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Northern Bank and Trust Company against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
First Northern Bank and Trust Company0.25%0.12%$1,00011 branches in PA
Central Penn Bank & Trust1.25%2.28%not stated14 branches in PA
Citizens Savings Bank0.25%0.09%$55 branches in LA
Clarion County Community Bank0.50%0.84%$1,0005 branches in PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Northern Bank and Trust Company's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates