Skip to main content

First Bank Elk River savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 5136Assets $362M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

First Bank Elk River advertises 0.10% APY on its Traditional Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #596 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #547. The advertised rate has not changed in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What First Bank Elk River actually pays

Key facts

First Bank Elk River at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Traditional Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Traditional Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.14% · 48 months · 4 Year CD
Minimum to open$500 · 48 months CD
Against the national average1.87 percentage points above the 1.27% FDIC 48-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.70% · Premium Money Market Savings · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$100 · Premium Money Market Savings
Against the national average0.07 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
First Bank Elk River bank facts
FDIC certificate5136 · Elk River, MN
Websitewww.elkriver.bank
Branches4 branches in MN
AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Rates

First Bank Elk River savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.70% APY
Premium Money Market Savings
Needs at least $250,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.30% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.40% APY
Money Market Savings
Needs at least $25,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $999.99
0.20% APY on balances $1,000 - $4,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $5,000 - $24,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Traditional Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
First Dollars Savings
Youth Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.14% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.14% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

First Bank Elk River CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months2.52%$50091 Day CD
6 months2.78%$500182 Day CD
12 months3.09%$5001 Year CD
18 months3.08%$50018 Month CD
24 months3.03%$5002 Year CD
36 months3.08%$5003 Year CD
48 months3.14%$5004 Year CD
IRA CDs
3 months2.52%$50091 Day IRA CD
6 months2.78%$500182 Day IRA CD
12 months3.09%$5001 Year IRA CD
18 months3.08%$50018 Month IRA CD
24 months3.03%$5002 Year IRA CD
36 months3.08%$5003 Year IRA CD
48 months3.14%$5004 Year IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for First Bank Elk River

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What First Bank Elk River pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.88%
Q1 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, First Bank Elk River paid a higher average rate than 27% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$272M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
28.9%
Q1 2026
$362M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • First Bank Elk River, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Traditional Savings0.10%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
First Dollars Savings0.10%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premium Money Market Savings0.70%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market Savings0.40%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months2.52%$500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months3.09%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.08%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.08%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months3.14%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
91 Day IRA CD3 months2.52%$500not statednot stated
182 Day IRA CD6 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
1 Year IRA CD12 months3.09%$500not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.08%$500not statednot stated
2 Year IRA CD24 months3.03%$500not statednot stated
3 Year IRA CD36 months3.08%$500not statednot stated
4 Year IRA CD48 months3.14%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN
Footprint4 branches in MN
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How First Bank Elk River behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Traditional Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

First Bank Elk River has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 2 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Traditional Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
48 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Money Market Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY First Bank Elk River advertises on Traditional Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

First Bank Elk River CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is First Bank Elk River?

HeadquartersElk River, MN
Founded1907
Scale$362M assets · $272M deposits, $193M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 5136

Financial detail is in What First Bank Elk River pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about First Bank Elk River

Is First Bank Elk River FDIC insured?

Yes. First Bank Elk River is FDIC insured under certificate 5136, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at First Bank Elk River?

First Bank Elk River requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Traditional Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does First Bank Elk River have branches?

Yes. First Bank Elk River operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

First Bank Elk River against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
First Bank Elk River0.70%1.88%$1004 branches in MN
Alliance Bank1.00%1.44%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.62%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%3.64%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to First Bank Elk River's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates