Skip to main content

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 14445Assets $904M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 11, 2026

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank advertises 0.75% APY on its Savings account. That is 0.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #287 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #215. The advertised rate has not changed in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What Farmers and Merchants Union Bank actually pays

Key facts

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.75% · Savings
Minimum to open$0 · Savings
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.30% · 13 months · 13 Month CD Promotion
Minimum to open$5,000 · 13 months CD
Against the national average2.59 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Farmers and Merchants Union Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate14445 · Columbus, WI
Websitewww.fmub.bank
Branches13 branches in WI
AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Rates

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

0.75% APY
Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
0.75% APY
Christmas Savings
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
Up to0.60% APY
Health Savings
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $15,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.30% APY on balances $500 - $1,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $2,000 - $9,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $10,000 - $14,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $15,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
4.30% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

IRA

2.47% APY
IRA Advantage
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026
4.30% APY
Highest CD · 13 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 11, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1 months0.50%$2,5007-31 Day CD
3 months1.00%$2,50091 Day CD
6 months2.00%$2,5006 Month HSA CD
6 months2.00%$2,500182 Day CD
7 months4.03%$5,0007 Month CD Promotion
12 months3.43%$1,00012 Month CD
12 months3.43%$1,00012 Month HSA CD
13 months4.30%$5,00013 Month CD Promotion
18 months3.43%$1,00018 Month HSA CD
18 months3.43%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months3.54%$1,00024 Month HSA CD
24 months3.54%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months3.79%$1,00030 Month HSA CD
30 months3.79%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.89%$1,00036 Month HSA CD
36 months3.89%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months3.94%$1,00048 Month HSA CD
48 months3.94%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months4.04%$1,00060 Month HSA CD
60 months4.04%$1,00060 Month CD
IRA CDs
6 months1.40%$2,5006 Month IRA CD
7 months4.03%$5,0007 Month IRA CD Promotion
12 months3.48%$1,00012 Month IRA CD
13 months4.30%$5,00013 Month IRA CD Promotion
18 months3.48%$1,00018 Month IRA CD
24 months3.59%$1,00024 Month IRA CD
30 months3.84%$1,00030 Month IRA CD
36 months3.94%$1,00036 Month IRA CD
48 months3.99%$1,00048 Month IRA CD
60 months4.09%$1,00060 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Farmers and Merchants Union Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$282.10(2.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,282.10

Effective APY
0.75%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Farmers and Merchants Union Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.33%
Q1 2026 ·
0.75% APY
As observed Sep 11, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Farmers and Merchants Union Bank paid a higher average rate than 53% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$784M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
18.7%
Q1 2026
$904M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Farmers and Merchants Union Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Savings0.75%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Savings0.75%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings0.60%$0$500Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Advantage2.47%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
7-31 Day CD1 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
91 Day CD3 months1.00%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Month HSA CD6 months2.00%$2,500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months2.00%$2,500not statednot stated
7 Month CD Promotion7 months4.03%$5,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.43%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month HSA CD12 months3.43%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Promotion13 months4.30%$5,000not statednot stated
18 Month HSA CD18 months3.43%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.43%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month HSA CD24 months3.54%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.54%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month HSA CD30 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.79%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month HSA CD36 months3.89%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months3.89%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month HSA CD48 months3.94%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.94%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month HSA CD60 months4.04%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months4.04%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
6 Month IRA CD6 months1.40%$2,500not statednot stated
7 Month IRA CD Promotion7 months4.03%$5,000not statednot stated
12 Month IRA CD12 months3.48%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month IRA CD Promotion13 months4.30%$5,000not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months3.48%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months3.59%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months3.84%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months3.94%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months3.99%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months4.09%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Footprint13 branches in WI
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Farmers and Merchants Union Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.75% (observed through Sep 11, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 3 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
13 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.75% APY Farmers and Merchants Union Bank advertises on Savings grows to $10,075 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,747 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Farmers and Merchants Union Bank?

HeadquartersColumbus, WI
Founded1861
Scale$904M assets · $784M deposits, $637M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 14445

Financial detail is in What Farmers and Merchants Union Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Farmers and Merchants Union Bank

Is Farmers and Merchants Union Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Union Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 14445, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Farmers and Merchants Union Bank?

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Savings account, as observed on Sep 11, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Farmers and Merchants Union Bank have branches?

Yes. Farmers and Merchants Union Bank operates 13 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Farmers and Merchants Union Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Farmers and Merchants Union Bank2.47%2.33%$5013 branches in WI
Fairview State Banking Company0.75%1.49%not stated1 branch in IL
Farmers State Bank3.03%1.60%not stated1 branch in IA
Ashton State Bank2.37%2.13%not stated1 branch in IA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Farmers and Merchants Union Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates