The Bank of New Glarus CD rates
The Bank of New Glarus advertises 3.75% APY on its 6-month CD. That is 2.34 percentage points above the national 6-month CD average of 1.41% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
The Bank of New Glarus at a glance
| CDs | |
|---|---|
| Top CD APY | 3.75% · 6 months · 6 Month CD Special |
| Minimum to open | $2,000 · 6 months CD |
| FDIC certificate | 10378 · New Glarus, WI |
|---|---|
| Website | www.thebankofnewglarus.bank |
| Branches | 8 branches in WI |
The Bank of New Glarus CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.
The Bank of New Glarus CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6 months | 3.75% | $2,000 | 6 Month CD Special |
| 18 months | 1.10% | $2,000 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 1.20% | $2,000 | 2 Year CD |
| 24 months | 1.20% | $100 | 2 Year Student Center CD |
| 36 months | 1.30% | $2,000 | 3 Year CD |
| 48 months | 1.40% | $2,000 | 4 Year CD |
| 60 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | 5 Year CD |
What The Bank of New Glarus pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
This section shows how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
In Q2 2026, The Bank of New Glarus paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 50% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- The Bank of New Glarus, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 Month CD Special | 6 months | 3.75% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 1.10% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year CD | 24 months | 1.20% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year Student Center CD | 24 months | 1.20% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year CD | 36 months | 1.30% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year CD | 48 months | 1.40% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year CD | 60 months | 1.50% | $2,000 | not stated | not stated |
How The Bank of New Glarus behaves over time
The Bank of New Glarus has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.
- 6 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
$10,000 at the 3.75% APY The Bank of New Glarus advertises on 6 Month CD Special grows to $10,375 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,034 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
The Bank of New Glarus CD rates over time
Who is The Bank of New Glarus?
| Headquarters | New Glarus, WI |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1893 |
| Scale | $823M assets · $647M deposits, $513M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 10378 |
| Charter state | Wisconsin · one of 154 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Size | 1,288th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit growth | Higher than at 71% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC) |
Financial detail is in What The Bank of New Glarus pays on deposits above.
Common questions about The Bank of New Glarus
Is The Bank of New Glarus FDIC insured?
Yes. The Bank of New Glarus is FDIC insured under certificate 10378, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
Does The Bank of New Glarus have branches?
Yes. The Bank of New Glarus operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Similar banks and related pages
Other banks chartered in Wisconsin, nearest to The Bank of New Glarus in deposits:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.
State pages: banks in Wisconsin.