Skip to main content

Lyons Federal Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 27727Assets $198M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 22, 2026

Lyons Federal Bank advertises 0.65% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #632 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #469.

Estimate your earnings·What Lyons Federal Bank actually pays

Key facts

Lyons Federal Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.65% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.01% · 7 months · 7 Month Special CD
Minimum to open$500 · 7 months CD
Against the national average2.60 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Lyons Federal Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate27727 · Lyons, KS
Websitewww.lyonsfed.com
Branches4 branches in KS
AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Rates

Lyons Federal Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

0.65% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
4.01% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

IRA

3.96% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Lyons Federal Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
1-3 months0.70%$50032-90 Day CD
3 months2.52%$5003 Month Special CD
3-5 months0.95%$50091 Day - 5 Month CD
6-11 months1.05%$5006-11 Month CD
7 months4.01%$5007 Month Special CD
12-17 months1.76%$50012-17 Month CD
13 months3.75%$50013 Month Special CD
18-23 months1.96%$50018-23 Month CD
24-29 months2.78%$50024-29 Month CD
27 months3.45%$50027 Month Special CD
30-35 months2.88%$50030-35 Month CD
36-47 months2.93%$50036-47 Month CD
48-59 months2.98%$50048-59 Month CD
60 months3.08%$50060 Month CD
IRA CDs
1-3 months0.70%not stated32-90 Day IRA CD
1 months0.70%not stated30 Day IRA
3-5 months0.95%not stated91 Day - 5 Month IRA CD
6-11 months1.05%not stated6-11 Month IRA CD
7 months3.96%not stated7 Month Special IRA CD
12-17 months1.76%not stated12-17 Month IRA CD
13 months3.70%not stated13 Month Special IRA CD
18 months1.96%not stated18 Month Variable IRA
18-23 months1.96%not stated18-23 Month IRA CD
24-29 months2.78%not stated24-29 Month IRA CD
27 months3.40%not stated27 Month Special IRA CD
30-35 months2.88%not stated30-35 Month IRA CD
36-47 months2.93%not stated36-47 Month IRA CD
48-59 months2.98%not stated48-59 Month IRA CD
60 months3.08%not stated60 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Lyons Federal Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Passbook Savings0.65% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$244.10(1.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,244.10

Effective APY
0.65%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Lyons Federal Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.18%
Q2 2026 ·
0.65% APY
As observed Sep 22, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Lyons Federal Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 39% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.50%
Q2 2026 ·
$167M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
14.8%
Q2 2026
$198M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Lyons Federal Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.65%$100$0None$3 quarterly service charge if the average daily balance falls below $100 for the quarter. Waived for accounts whose Primary Owner is under the age of 23.not statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
32-90 Day CD1-3 months0.70%$500not statednot stated
3 Month Special CD3 months2.52%$500not statednot stated
91 Day - 5 Month CD3-5 months0.95%$500not statednot stated
6-11 Month CD6-11 months1.05%$500not statednot stated
7 Month Special CD7 months4.01%$500not statednot stated
12-17 Month CD12-17 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
13 Month Special CD13 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
18-23 Month CD18-23 months1.96%$500not statednot stated
24-29 Month CD24-29 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
27 Month Special CD27 months3.45%$500not statednot stated
30-35 Month CD30-35 months2.88%$500not statednot stated
36-47 Month CD36-47 months2.93%$500not statednot stated
48-59 Month CD48-59 months2.98%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.08%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
32-90 Day IRA CD1-3 months0.70%not statednot statednot stated
30 Day IRA1 months0.70%not statednot statednot stated
91 Day - 5 Month IRA CD3-5 months0.95%not statednot statednot stated
6-11 Month IRA CD6-11 months1.05%not statednot statednot stated
7 Month Special IRA CD7 months3.96%not statednot statednot stated
12-17 Month IRA CD12-17 months1.76%not statednot statednot stated
13 Month Special IRA CD13 months3.70%not statednot statednot stated
18 Month Variable IRA18 months1.96%not statednot statednot stated
18-23 Month IRA CD18-23 months1.96%not statednot statednot stated
24-29 Month IRA CD24-29 months2.78%not statednot statednot stated
27 Month Special IRA CD27 months3.40%not statednot statednot stated
30-35 Month IRA CD30-35 months2.88%not statednot statednot stated
36-47 Month IRA CD36-47 months2.93%not statednot statednot stated
48-59 Month IRA CD48-59 months2.98%not statednot statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.08%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Footprint4 branches in KS
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Lyons Federal Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.65% (observed through Sep 22, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
7 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 2, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.65% APY Lyons Federal Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,065 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,734 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Lyons Federal Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Lyons Federal Bank?

HeadquartersLyons, KS
Founded1913
Scale$198M assets · $167M deposits, $142M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 27727

Financial detail is in What Lyons Federal Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Lyons Federal Bank

Is Lyons Federal Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Lyons Federal Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 27727, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Lyons Federal Bank?

Lyons Federal Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 22, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Lyons Federal Bank have branches?

Yes. Lyons Federal Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Lyons Federal Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Lyons Federal Bank0.65%1.18%$1004 branches in KS
Charter Bank1.90%1.27%$25,0004 branches in IA
First United Bank1.70%1.30%$50,00025 branches in TX
HomeBank3.05%1.74%$5,0009 branches in IL, MO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Lyons Federal Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates