Skip to main content

ESB Financial savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 16629Assets $393M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

ESB Financial advertises up to 1.01% APY on its Kasasa Saver account. The 1.01% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.15% on the whole amount.

A checking account at the bank is required. On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.15% overall, about $15 in a year, which is 0.23 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #216 of 645 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #362.

Estimate your earnings·What ESB Financial actually pays

Key facts

ESB Financial at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 1.01% · Kasasa Saver · up to $10,000 only · checking account required
Minimum to open$0 · Kasasa Saver
Against the national average0.63 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.80% · 6-11 months · 6-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 6-11 months CD
Against the national average2.39 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
ESB Financial bank facts
FDIC certificate16629 · Emporia, KS
Websitewww.esbfinancial.com
Branches4 branches in KS
AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Rates

ESB Financial savings and CD rates

Personal

Up to1.01% APY
Kasasa Saver
On balances up to $10,000 · 0.15% above
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

1.01% APY on balances $0 - $10,000
Applies to the portion of the balance up to $10,000, in a monthly cycle in which the account qualifications are met.
0.15% APY on balances $10,000+
Applies only to the portion of the balance above $10,000. The bank publishes the resulting blended yield as a range from 1.01% to 0.15%.
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.45% APY
Christmas Savings
Club Savings
Needs at least $150,000

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $50,000 - $149,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $150,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
Up to0.45% APY
Savings Account
Needs at least $150,000

How the rate applies

0.20% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
0.35% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
0.40% APY on balances $50,000 - $149,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $150,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.80% APY
Highest CD · 6-11 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

3.75% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to0.70% APY
Business Max
Needs at least $1,000,000

How the rate applies

0.45% APY on balances $0 - $249,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.51%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

ESB Financial CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.70%$50091-Day CD
6-11 months3.80%$5006-Month CD
12-17 months3.65%$50012-Month CD
18-23 months3.65%$50018-Month CD
24-29 months3.60%$50024-Month CD
30-35 months3.65%$50030-Month CD
36-47 months3.70%$50036-Month CD
36 months3.65%not stated36-Month Companion CD
48 months3.75%$50048-Month CD
60 months3.75%$50060-Month CD
60 months3.70%not stated60-Month Companion CD
IRA CDs
18 months3.65%$2518-Month Variable IRA
48 months3.75%not stated48-Month Adjustable Rate IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for ESB Financial

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.01% ($0 - $10,000), 0.15% ($10,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$216.70(1.5%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,216.70

Effective APY
0.58%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What ESB Financial pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.27%
Q1 2026 ·
Up to1.01% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.01% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.15% on the whole amount.

In Q1 2026, ESB Financial paid a higher average rate than 50% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$343M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
23.5%
Q1 2026
$393M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • ESB Financial, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Kasasa Saver1.01%$0$0$10,000not statedChecking accountTiered
Christmas Savings0.45%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Savings Account0.45%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Max0.70%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91-Day CD3 months3.70%$500not statednot stated
6-Month CD6-11 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
12-Month CD12-17 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
18-Month CD18-23 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
24-Month CD24-29 months3.60%$500not statednot stated
30-Month CD30-35 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
36-Month CD36-47 months3.70%$500not statednot stated
36-Month Companion CD36 months3.65%not statednot statednot stated
48-Month CD48 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
60-Month CD60 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
60-Month Companion CD60 months3.70%not statednot statednot stated
IRA CDs
18-Month Variable IRA18 months3.65%$25not statednot stated
48-Month Adjustable Rate IRA48 months3.75%not statednot statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Footprint4 branches in KS
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How ESB Financial behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Kasasa Saver rate in the last 12 months was 1.01% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Kasasa Saver
The same as 7 days ago.
6-11 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.01% APY ESB Financial advertises on Kasasa Saver grows to $10,101 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,773 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

ESB Financial CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is ESB Financial?

HeadquartersEmporia, KS
Founded1901
Scale$393M assets · $343M deposits, $263M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 16629

Financial detail is in What ESB Financial pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about ESB Financial

Is ESB Financial FDIC insured?

Yes. ESB Financial is FDIC insured under certificate 16629, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at ESB Financial?

ESB Financial requires no minimum deposit to open its Kasasa Saver account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.01% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.01% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.15% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does ESB Financial have branches?

Yes. ESB Financial operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

ESB Financial against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
ESB Financial1.01%2.27%$04 branches in KS
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Central Illinois, S.B.1.26%2.38%$1,0004 branches in IL
Bank of Star Valley2.53%2.38%$1,0003 branches in WY
BankGloucester2.00%2.01%$10,0003 branches in MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to ESB Financial's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates