Skip to main content

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 30397Assets $669M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association advertises 0.05% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.33 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #361 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #344.

Estimate your earnings·What Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association actually pays

Key facts

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.05% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$25 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.33 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 14 months · 14 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$500 · 14 months CD
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.80% · Premier Money Market · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$1,000 · Premier Money Market
Against the national average0.17 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association bank facts
FDIC certificate30397 · Syracuse, NY
Websitewww.geddesfederal.com
Branches1 branch in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.80% APY
Premier Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.30% APY on balances $1,000 - $49,999.99
0.55% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.80% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
Up to0.70% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $250,000
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.30% APY on balances $1,000 - $49,999.99
0.45% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
0.70% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.05% APY
Statement Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.05% APY
Passbook Savings
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 14 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

IRA

3.56% APY
Highest CD · 72 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
4 months4.00%$5004 Month CD Special
6 months1.30%$5006 Month CD
9 months1.30%$5009 Month CD
12 months1.30%$50012 Month CD
14 months4.00%$50014 Month CD Special
18 months1.76%$50018 Month CD
24 months1.76%$50024 Month CD
27 months3.80%$50027 Month CD Special
36 months1.86%$50036 Month CD
48 months1.91%$50048 Month CD
60 months2.12%$50060 Month CD
63 months3.25%$50063 Month CD Special
IRA CDs
12 months1.81%$50012 Month IRA CD
18 months2.78%$50018 Month IRA CD
24 months2.02%$50024 Month IRA CD
30 months2.02%$50030 Month IRA CD
36 months2.12%$50036 Month IRA CD
48 months2.42%$50048 Month IRA CD
60 months3.56%$50060 Month IRA CD
65 months3.56%$50065 Month IRA CD
72 months3.56%$50072 Month IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$18.60(0.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,018.60

Effective APY
0.05%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.99%
Q1 2026 ·
0.05% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association paid a higher average rate than 85% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$498M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
4.3%
Q1 2026
$669M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Statement Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premier Money Market0.80%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Money Market0.70%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
4 Month CD Special4 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months1.30%$500not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months1.30%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.30%$500not statednot stated
14 Month CD Special14 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
27 Month CD Special27 months3.80%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.86%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.91%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.12%$500not statednot stated
63 Month CD Special63 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month IRA CD12 months1.81%$500not statednot stated
18 Month IRA CD18 months2.78%$500not statednot stated
24 Month IRA CD24 months2.02%$500not statednot stated
30 Month IRA CD30 months2.02%$500not statednot stated
36 Month IRA CD36 months2.12%$500not statednot stated
48 Month IRA CD48 months2.42%$500not statednot stated
60 Month IRA CD60 months3.56%$500not statednot stated
65 Month IRA CD65 months3.56%$500not statednot stated
72 Month IRA CD72 months3.56%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint1 branch in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.05% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Banksparency observed no cuts to Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 3 Federal Reserve cuts.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
14 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premier Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 13, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.05% APY Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,005 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,680 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association?

HeadquartersSyracuse, NY
Founded1948
Scale$669M assets · $498M deposits, $476M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 30397

Financial detail is in What Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association

Is Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association FDIC insured?

Yes. Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association is FDIC insured under certificate 30397, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association?

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association requires a minimum deposit of $25 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association have branches?

Yes. Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association0.80%2.99%$1,0001 branch in NY
F&M Bank and Trust Company0.10%2.02%$2,5003 branches in MO
Federation Bank0.75%1.46%$25,0004 branches in IA
First Commerce Bank0.15%2.52%not stated6 branches in TN

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Geddes Federal Savings and Loan Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates