Skip to main content

Central Bank & Trust Co. savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15815Assets $4.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 29, 2026

Central Bank & Trust Co. advertises 1.00% APY on its Savings Accounts account. That is 0.63 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #645 of 2523 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #446.

Estimate your earnings·What Central Bank & Trust Co. actually pays

Key facts

Central Bank & Trust Co. at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY1.00% · Savings Accounts
Minimum to open$10 · Savings Accounts
Against the national average0.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.50% · 60 months · 5 Year CD
Minimum to open$500 · 60 months CD
Against the national average3.12 percentage points above the 1.38% FDIC 60-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.50% · Personal Money Market Plus · needs at least $500,000
Minimum to opennot stated · Personal Money Market Plus
Against the national average2.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Central Bank & Trust Co. bank facts
FDIC certificate15815 · Lexington, KY
Websitewww.centralbank.com
Branches29 branches in KY
AvailabilityAvailable in KY
Rates

Central Bank & Trust Co. savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.50% APY
Personal Money Market Plus
Needs at least $500,000

How the rate applies

1.50% APY on balances $0 - $499,999.99
3.50% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to2.75% APY
Central Money Market Personal
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.25% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
1.75% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.75% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
1.00% APY
Savings Accounts
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
0.75% APY
Health Savings Accounts
Health Savings (HSA)
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
4.50% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

Business

Up to3.25% APY
Nonpersonal Money Market Plus
Needs at least $500,000

How the rate applies

1.25% APY on balances $0 - $499,999.99
3.25% APY on balances $500,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026
Up to2.50% APY
Central Money Market Nonpersonal
Needs at least $250,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

1.00% APY on balances $0 - $9,999.99
1.25% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
1.50% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.25% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
2.50% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 29, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.66%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Central Bank & Trust Co. CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
0-1 months3.50%$20,0007 to 31 Day CD
1-2 months3.00%$5,00032 to 89 Day CD
3-5 months3.25%$2,50090 to 179 Day CD
6-11 months3.50%$1,000180 to 364 Day CD
12 months4.00%$5001 Year CD
24 months4.25%$5002 Year CD
36 months4.30%$5003 Year CD
48 months4.35%$5004 Year CD
60 months4.50%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Central Bank & Trust Co.

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.25% ($0 - $499,999.99), 3.25% ($500,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$473.10(3.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,473.10

Effective APY
1.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Central Bank & Trust Co. pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.70%
Q2 2026 ·
1.00% APY
As observed Sep 29, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Central Bank & Trust Co. paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 60% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.31%
Q2 2026 ·
$3.1B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
36.5%
Q2 2026
$4.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Central Bank & Trust Co., savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Savings Accounts1.00%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Health Savings Accounts0.75%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Personal Money Market Plus3.50%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Central Money Market Personal2.75%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Nonpersonal Money Market Plus3.25%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Central Money Market Nonpersonal2.50%$2,500$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
7 to 31 Day CD0-1 months3.50%$20,000not statednot stated
32 to 89 Day CD1-2 months3.00%$5,000not statednot stated
90 to 179 Day CD3-5 months3.25%$2,500not statednot stated
180 to 364 Day CD6-11 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months4.00%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months4.25%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months4.30%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months4.35%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months4.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in KY
Footprint29 branches in KY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Central Bank & Trust Co. behaves over time

12-month high
1.00%
12-month low
0.75%
Advertised now
1.00%
At the 12-month high

The advertised Savings Accounts rate, observed through Sep 29, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Savings Accounts
Up 0.25 percentage points from 7 days ago.
60 months CD
Up 2.25 percentage points from 7 days ago.
Personal Money Market Plus
Up 0.25 percentage points from 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 1.00% APY Central Bank & Trust Co. advertises on Savings Accounts grows to $10,100 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,768 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • Savings Accounts APY
  • Banksparency savings index
Central Bank & Trust Co. Savings Accounts advertised APY, as observed, Sep 2026 – Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index.

Central Bank & Trust Co. CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Central Bank & Trust Co.?

HeadquartersLexington, KY
Founded1938
Scale$4.0B assets · $3.1B deposits, $2.0B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15815
Charter stateKentucky · one of 120 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size342nd-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 62% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Central Bank & Trust Co. pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Central Bank & Trust Co.

Is Central Bank & Trust Co. FDIC insured?

Yes. Central Bank & Trust Co. is FDIC insured under certificate 15815, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Central Bank & Trust Co.?

Central Bank & Trust Co. requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Savings Accounts account, as observed on Sep 29, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Central Bank & Trust Co. have branches?

Yes. Central Bank & Trust Co. operates 29 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Central Bank & Trust Co. against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Central Bank & Trust Co.1.00%1.70%$1029 branches in KY
American Bank & Trust Company, Inc.1.00%2.87%$1006 branches in KY
American State Bank1.00%2.47%$1005 branches in TX
Anahuac National Bank1.00%0.88%$505 branches in TX

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Central Bank & Trust Co.'s.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Kentucky, nearest to Central Bank & Trust Co. in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates