Skip to main content

Wells River Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 14136Assets $267M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Wells River Savings Bank advertises 1.00% APY on its Kasasa Saver account. The 1.00% applies to balances up to $74,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount.

A checking account at the bank is required. That is 0.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #456 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #326.

Estimate your earnings·What Wells River Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Wells River Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY1.00% · Kasasa Saver · up to $74,999.99 only · checking account required
Minimum to open$100 · Kasasa Saver
Against the national average0.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.82% · 6 months · 6 Month CD
Minimum to open$200 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.41 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.60% · Premium Money Market Account · needs at least $250,000
Minimum to open$25,000 · Premium Money Market Account
Against the national average0.03 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Wells River Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate14136 · Wells River, VT
Websitewww.wellsriversavings.com
Branches6 branches in VT
AvailabilityAvailable in VT
Rates

Wells River Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

1.00% APY
Kasasa Saver
On balances up to $74,999.99 · 0.25% above
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

1.00% APY on balances $0 - $74,999.99
0.25% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.60% APY
Premium Money Market Account
Needs at least $250,000
$25,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999
0.15% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999
0.25% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999
0.40% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999
0.60% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.50% APY
Health Savings Account (HSA)
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000
$50 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0 - $999
0.35% APY on balances $1,000 - $9,999
0.50% APY on balances $10,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,499
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $99,999
0.15% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Youth/Student Savings
Youth Savings
Needs at least $100,000

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $2,499
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $99,999
0.15% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.15% APY
Money Market Account
Needs at least $25,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $0 - $24,999
0.15% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Savings Club (50 Week Term)
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.82% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$200 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Wells River Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.15%$2003 Month CD
6 months3.82%$2006 Month CD
12 months3.56%$20012 Month CD
24 months2.78%$20024 Month CD
36 months0.60%$20036 Month CD
60 months0.60%$20060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Wells River Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.00% ($0 - $74,999.99), 0.25% ($75,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$377.30(2.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,377.30

Effective APY
1.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Wells River Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.19%
Q2 2026 ·
1.00% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 1.00% applies to balances up to $74,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, Wells River Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 5% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.69%
Q2 2026 ·
$235M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
28.9%
Q2 2026
$267M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Wells River Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Kasasa Saver1.00%$100$0$74,999.99not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered
Health Savings Account (HSA)0.50%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Statement Savings0.15%$100$0None$2.00 (if average daily balance for the month falls below $100)not statedTiered
Youth/Student Savings0.15%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Savings Club (50 Week Term)0.05%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Premium Money Market Account0.60%$25,000$0None$5 (If average daily balance for the month falls below $25,000)not statedTiered
Money Market Account0.15%$2,500$0None$5 (If average daily balance for the month falls below $2,500)not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month CD3 months0.15%$200not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.82%$200not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.56%$200not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months2.78%$200not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months0.60%$200not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months0.60%$200not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in VT
Footprint6 branches in VT
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Wells River Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Kasasa Saver rate in the last 12 months was 1.00% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Kasasa Saver
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Money Market Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 28, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.00% APY Wells River Savings Bank advertises on Kasasa Saver grows to $10,100 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,768 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Wells River Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Wells River Savings Bank?

HeadquartersWells River, VT
Founded1892
Scale$267M assets · $235M deposits, $167M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 14136

Financial detail is in What Wells River Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Wells River Savings Bank

Is Wells River Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Wells River Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 14136, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Wells River Savings Bank?

Wells River Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Kasasa Saver account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 1.00% apply to my whole balance?

The 1.00% applies to balances up to $74,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does Wells River Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Wells River Savings Bank operates 6 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Wells River Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Wells River Savings Bank1.00%0.19%$1006 branches in VT
Bank of Star Valley2.53%0.97%$1,0003 branches in WY
BankGloucester2.00%1.61%$10,0003 branches in MA
CBBC Bank1.00%0.70%$2,5007 branches in TN

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Wells River Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates