Skip to main content

Washington Savings Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 29227Assets $585M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Washington Savings Bank advertises 0.50% APY on its Elite Saver account. The 0.50% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount.

A checking account at the bank is required. That is 0.13 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #913 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #752.

Estimate your earnings·What Washington Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Washington Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.50% · Elite Saver · up to $10,000 only · checking account required
Minimum to open$10 · Elite Saver
Against the national average0.13 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.60% · 6 months · 182 Day CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.19 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Washington Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate29227 · Effingham, IL
Websitewww.washingtonsavings.net
Branches4 branches in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

Washington Savings Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

2.50% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.50% APY
Elite Saver
On balances up to $10,000 · 0.25% above
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $10,000
0.25% APY on balances $10,000.01+
Blended APY of 0.25% - 0.50% on balances over $10,000.
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.25% APY
Tiered Statement Savings
Needs at least $50,000.01
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $100 - $25,000
0.20% APY on balances $25,000.01 - $50,000
0.25% APY on balances $50,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.25% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $10,000.01

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $0.01 - $5,000
0.20% APY on balances $5,000.01 - $10,000
0.25% APY on balances $10,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.20% APY
Kid's Club
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.60% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

IRA

3.44% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Business

Up to0.40% APY
Commercial Statement Savings
Needs at least $250,000.01
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.15% APY on balances $5,000 - $10,000
0.20% APY on balances $10,000.01 - $50,000
0.30% APY on balances $50,000.01 - $100,000
0.35% APY on balances $100,000.01 - $250,000
0.40% APY on balances $250,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Washington Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months3.50%$2,50091 Day CD
6 months3.60%$2,500182 Day CD
10 months0.50%$2,50010 Month CD
12 months3.44%$1,00012 Month CD
15 months0.50%$2,50015 Month CD
18 months3.22%$1,00018 Month CD
20 months0.50%$2,50020 Month CD
24 months3.24%$1,00024 Month CD
30 months0.50%$1,00030 Month CD
36 months3.19%$2,50036 Month Bump CD
48 months3.24%$1,00048 Month CD
60 months3.29%$1,00060 Month CD
84 months3.39%$1,00084 Month CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.44%$1,00012 Month Roth IRA
12 months3.44%$1,00012 Month Traditional IRA
15 months0.50%$2,50015 Month Roth IRA
15 months0.50%$2,50015 Month Traditional IRA
18 months3.03%$10018 Month Variable Roth IRA
18 months3.03%$10018 Month Variable Traditional IRA
18 months3.22%$1,00018 Month Traditional IRA
24 months3.24%$1,00024 Month Roth IRA
24 months3.24%$1,00024 Month Traditional IRA
30 months0.50%$1,00030 Month Traditional IRA
36 months3.19%$2,50036 Month Bump Roth IRA
36 months3.19%$2,50036 Month Bump Traditional IRA
60 months3.29%$1,00060 Month Traditional IRA
84 months3.39%$1,00084 Month Roth IRA
84 months3.39%$1,00084 Month Traditional IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Washington Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$961.40(6.4%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,961.40

Effective APY
2.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Washington Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.09%
Q2 2026 ·
0.50% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.50% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, Washington Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 74% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.36%
Q2 2026 ·
$504M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
12.7%
Q2 2026
$585M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Washington Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Christmas Club2.50%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Elite Saver0.50%$10$0$10,000not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered
Tiered Statement Savings0.25%$10$100NoneA monthly service fee of $3.00 will be imposed each month if the minimum balance falls below $100.00.not statedTiered
Health Savings Account0.25%not stated$0NoneA monthly service fee of $2.00 will be imposed each month if the minimum balance falls below $500.00.not statedTiered
Kid's Club0.20%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Commercial Statement Savings0.40%$100$5,000NoneA monthly service fee of $8.00 will be imposed each month if the minimum balance falls below $5,000.00.not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months3.50%$2,500not statednot stated
182 Day CD6 months3.60%$2,500not statednot stated
10 Month CD10 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months3.44%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months3.22%$1,000not statednot stated
20 Month CD20 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months3.24%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months0.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Bump CD36 months3.19%$2,500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months3.24%$1,000not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months3.29%$1,000not statednot stated
84 Month CD84 months3.39%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Month Roth IRA12 months3.44%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month Traditional IRA12 months3.44%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month Roth IRA15 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
15 Month Traditional IRA15 months0.50%$2,500not statednot stated
18 Month Variable Roth IRA18 months3.03%$100not statednot stated
18 Month Variable Traditional IRA18 months3.03%$100not statednot stated
18 Month Traditional IRA18 months3.22%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month Roth IRA24 months3.24%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month Traditional IRA24 months3.24%$1,000not statednot stated
30 Month Traditional IRA30 months0.50%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month Bump Roth IRA36 months3.19%$2,500not statednot stated
36 Month Bump Traditional IRA36 months3.19%$2,500not statednot stated
60 Month Traditional IRA60 months3.29%$1,000not statednot stated
84 Month Roth IRA84 months3.39%$1,000not statednot stated
84 Month Traditional IRA84 months3.39%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint4 branches in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Washington Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Elite Saver rate in the last 12 months was 0.50% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Elite Saver
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.50% APY Washington Savings Bank advertises on Elite Saver grows to $10,050 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,720 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Washington Savings Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Washington Savings Bank?

HeadquartersEffingham, IL
Founded1883
Scale$585M assets · $504M deposits, $440M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 29227
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size1,558th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 21% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Washington Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Washington Savings Bank

Is Washington Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Washington Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 29227, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Washington Savings Bank?

Washington Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Elite Saver account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.50% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.50% applies to balances up to $10,000. A larger balance earns 0.25% on the whole amount. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 23, 2026.

Does Washington Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Washington Savings Bank operates 4 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Washington Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Washington Savings Bank0.50%2.09%$104 branches in IL
AbbyBank0.50%1.34%$09 branches in WI
Adams State Bank0.50%not stated$251 branch in NE
American Heritage Bank0.50%0.59%$10024 branches in OK

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Washington Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Washington Savings Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates