Skip to main content

Ulster Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15970Assets $1.4B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 18, 2026

Ulster Savings Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Smart Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1245 of 1600 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1165.

Estimate your earnings·What Ulster Savings Bank actually pays

Key facts

Ulster Savings Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Smart Savings
Minimum to open$250 · Smart Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.25% · 24 months · 24 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 24 months CD
Against the national average2.68 percentage points above the 1.57% FDIC 24-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.20% · Select Money Market · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Select Money Market
Against the national average0.43 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Ulster Savings Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate15970 · Kingston, NY
Websitewww.ulstersavings.com
Branches15 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

Ulster Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.20% APY
Select Money Market
Needs at least $75,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $50,000
0.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $75,000
0.20% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Money Market
Needs at least $2,500
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $2,500
0.15% APY on balances $2,500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Smart Savings
$250 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.10% APY
Minor Savings
Youth Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
4.25% APY
Highest CD · 24 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 18, 2026

IRA

0.15% APY
IRA Money Market Account
Needs at least $500
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $500
0.15% APY on balances $500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
IRA Education Money Market Account
Needs at least $500
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $0 - $500
0.15% APY on balances $500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

2.50% APY
Non-Profit Select Money Market Account
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Ulster Savings Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
not stated0.10%$2,5007 Day CD
3 months0.10%$2,5003 Month (91 Day) CD
6 months0.15%$2,5006 Month (182 Day) CD
7 months3.60%$2,5007 Month CD
9 months0.25%$2,5009 Month CD
10 months3.41%$2,50010 Month CD
12 months4.00%$2,50012 Month CD
13 months0.30%$2,50013 Month CD
14 months0.30%$50014 Month Promo Special CD
15 months3.70%$50015 Month CD
16 months3.65%$50016 Month Add-On CD
18 months0.30%$50018 Month CD
20 months3.65%$50020 Month CD
24 months4.25%$50024 Month CD
30 months3.75%$50030 Month CD
36 months0.40%$50036 Month CD
37 months0.40%$50037 Month Promo Special CD
48 months0.45%$50048 Month CD
60 months0.50%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Ulster Savings Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Every balance tier pays the same 2.50% APY.

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,158.50(7.0%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,500

Projected Balance

$16,658.50

Effective APY
2.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Ulster Savings Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.35%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Ulster Savings Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 10% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.89%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.2B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
16.4%
Q2 2026
$1.4B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Ulster Savings Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Smart Savings0.10%$250$0None$3.00 imposed at interest crediting if the average daily balance for the month falls below $500.00.NoneOne rate
Minor Savings0.10%$5$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
Select Money Market0.20%$2,500$0None$10.00 imposed at interest crediting if one or more daily balances in the statement cycle period fall below $2,500.00.NoneTiered
Money Market0.15%$2,500$0None$10.00 imposed at interest crediting if one or more daily balances in the statement cycle period fall below $2,500.00.NoneTiered
IRA
IRA Money Market Account0.15%$25$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
IRA Education Money Market Account0.15%$25$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Business
Non-Profit Select Money Market Account2.50%$2,500$0None$10.00 imposed at interest crediting if one or more daily balances in the statement cycle period fall below $2,500.00.NoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
7 Day CDnot stated0.10%$2,500not statednot stated
3 Month (91 Day) CD3 months0.10%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Month (182 Day) CD6 months0.15%$2,500not statednot stated
7 Month CD7 months3.60%$2,500not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months0.25%$2,500not statednot stated
10 Month CD10 months3.41%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months4.00%$2,500not statednot stated
13 Month CD13 months0.30%$2,500not statednot stated
14 Month Promo Special CD14 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months3.70%$500not statednot stated
16 Month Add-On CD16 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
20 Month CD20 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months4.25%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months0.40%$500not statednot stated
37 Month Promo Special CD37 months0.40%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months0.45%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months0.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint15 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Ulster Savings Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Smart Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Smart Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
24 months CD
Up 3.95 percentage points from 7 days ago.
Select Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 18, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY Ulster Savings Bank advertises on Smart Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Ulster Savings Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Ulster Savings Bank?

HeadquartersKingston, NY
Founded1851
Scale$1.4B assets · $1.2B deposits, $1.0B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15970

Financial detail is in What Ulster Savings Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Ulster Savings Bank

Is Ulster Savings Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Ulster Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 15970, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Ulster Savings Bank?

Ulster Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $250 to open its Smart Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Ulster Savings Bank have branches?

Yes. Ulster Savings Bank operates 15 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Ulster Savings Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Ulster Savings Bank2.50%0.35%$2,50015 branches in NY
Artisans' Bank2.50%0.91%$5,00013 branches in DE
Auburn Savings Bank, FSB2.50%1.54%$252 branches in ME
Centreville Bank2.50%2.55%$10,00023 branches in CT, RI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Ulster Savings Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates