The North Country Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
The North Country Savings Bank advertises 3.56% APY on its NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified account. That is 3.18 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
A checking account at the bank is required.
Ranked #88 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #64.
Estimate your earnings·What The North Country Savings Bank actually pays
The North Country Savings Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 3.56% · NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified · checking account required |
| Minimum to open | $50 · NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified |
| Against the national average | 3.18 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.56% · 13 months · Thirteen Month Relationship CD |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 13 months CD |
| Against the national average | 1.85 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 1.01% · Money Market Advantage Account · needs at least $75,000 |
| Minimum to open | $50 · Money Market Advantage Account |
| Against the national average | 0.38 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 16030 · Canton, NY |
|---|---|
| Website | northcountrysavings.bank |
| Branches | 8 branches in NY |
| Availability | Available in NY |
The North Country Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
IRA
How the rate applies
Business
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
The North Country Savings Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 6 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | Six Month CD |
| 7 months | 3.45% | $1,000 | Seven Month Relationship CD |
| 7 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | Seven Month CD |
| 12 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | Twelve Month CD |
| 13 months | 3.04% | $1,000 | Thirteen Month CD |
| 13 months | 3.56% | $1,000 | Thirteen Month Relationship CD |
| 18 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | Eighteen Month CD |
| 24 months | 2.53% | $1,000 | Twenty Four Month CD |
| 30 months | 0.20% | $1,000 | Thirty Month CD |
| 36 months | 2.78% | $1,000 | Thirty Six Month CD |
| 48 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | Forty Eight Month "Step Up" CD |
| 48 months | 2.99% | $1,000 | Forty Eight Month CD |
| 60 months | 3.04% | $1,000 | Sixty Month CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | IRA Six Month CD |
| 7 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | IRA Seven Month CD |
| 7 months | 3.44% | $1,000 | IRA Seven Month Relationship CD |
| 12 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | IRA Twelve Month CD |
| 13 months | 3.03% | $1,000 | IRA Thirteen Month CD |
| 13 months | 3.55% | $1,000 | IRA Thirteen Month Relationship CD |
| 18 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | IRA Eighteen Month CD |
| 24 months | 2.52% | $1,000 | IRA Twenty Four Month CD |
| 36 months | 2.78% | $1,000 | IRA Thirty Six Month CD |
| 48 months | 2.98% | $1,000 | IRA Forty Eight Month CD |
| 60 months | 3.03% | $1,000 | IRA Sixty Month CD |
| Business CDs | |||
| 3 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | Three Month Business CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for The North Country Savings Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$1,387.70(9.0%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$15,387.70
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What The North Country Savings Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, The North Country Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 14% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- The North Country Savings Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified | 3.56% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | One rate | |
| Christmas Clubs | 0.10% | $1 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Startastic Savings Account | 0.05% | $5 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Statement Savings Account | 0.05% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Unqualified | 0.05% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | Checking account · direct deposit not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market Advantage Account | 1.01% | $50 | $1,000 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
| Money Market Statement Savings Account | 0.05% | $50 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market Demand Account | 0.03% | $2,500 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| IRA | ||||||||
| IRA Advantage | 0.15% | $50 | $1,000 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| Six Month CD | 6 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Seven Month Relationship CD | 7 months | 3.45% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Seven Month CD | 7 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Twelve Month CD | 12 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Thirteen Month CD | 13 months | 3.04% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Thirteen Month Relationship CD | 13 months | 3.56% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Eighteen Month CD | 18 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Twenty Four Month CD | 24 months | 2.53% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Thirty Month CD | 30 months | 0.20% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Thirty Six Month CD | 36 months | 2.78% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Forty Eight Month "Step Up" CD | 48 months | 0.25% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Forty Eight Month CD | 48 months | 2.99% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Sixty Month CD | 60 months | 3.04% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| IRA Six Month CD | 6 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Seven Month CD | 7 months | 3.14% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Seven Month Relationship CD | 7 months | 3.44% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Twelve Month CD | 12 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Thirteen Month CD | 13 months | 3.03% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Thirteen Month Relationship CD | 13 months | 3.55% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Eighteen Month CD | 18 months | 0.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Twenty Four Month CD | 24 months | 2.52% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Thirty Six Month CD | 36 months | 2.78% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Forty Eight Month CD | 48 months | 2.98% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA Sixty Month CD | 60 months | 3.03% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| Business CDs | |||||
| Three Month Business CD | 3 months | 4.07% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in NY |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 8 branches in NY |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How The North Country Savings Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified rate in the last 12 months was 3.56% (observed through Sep 11, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 13 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market Advantage Account
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 15, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 3.56% APY The North Country Savings Bank advertises on NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified grows to $10,356 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,019 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
The North Country Savings Bank CD rates over time
Who is The North Country Savings Bank?
| Headquarters | Canton, NY |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1909 |
| Scale | $366M assets · $292M deposits, $254M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 16030 |
Financial detail is in What The North Country Savings Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about The North Country Savings Bank
Is The North Country Savings Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. The North Country Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 16030, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at The North Country Savings Bank?
The North Country Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its NCSB Premium Rewards/ Cashback Rewards Savings- Qualified account, as observed on Sep 11, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does The North Country Savings Bank have branches?
Yes. The North Country Savings Bank operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
The North Country Savings Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The North Country Savings Bank | 3.56% | 1.59% | $50 | 8 branches in NY |
| Bogota Savings Bank | 3.56% | 3.33% | $100 | 8 branches in NJ |
| Farmers & Merchants Bank | 3.55% | 2.58% | $25 | 5 branches in OH |
| CIBC Bank USA | 3.52% | 3.23% | $1,000 | 8 branches in FL, IL, MI, MO |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The North Country Savings Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.