Skip to main content

The First National Bank of St. Ignace savings and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 5074Assets $336M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The First National Bank of St. Ignace advertises 0.40% APY on its Select Savings Account. That is 0.03 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #834 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #683.

Estimate your earnings·What The First National Bank of St. Ignace actually pays

Key facts

The First National Bank of St. Ignace at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.40% · Select Savings Account
Minimum to open$10,000 · Select Savings Account
Against the national average0.03 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APY0.25% · Money Market Savings Account
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market Savings Account
Against the national average0.38 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
The First National Bank of St. Ignace bank facts
FDIC certificate5074 · St. Ignace, MI
Websitewww.fnbsi.com
Branches7 branches in MI
AvailabilityAvailable in MI
Rates

The First National Bank of St. Ignace savings and money market rates

0.50% APY
Christmas Club Savings Account
Club Savings
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.40% APY
Select Savings Account
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.25% APY
Money Market Savings Account
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Moola Moola Savings Account
Youth Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Statement Savings Account
$25 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The First National Bank of St. Ignace

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$187.40(1.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,187.40

Effective APY
0.50%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The First National Bank of St. Ignace pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.57%
Q2 2026 ·
0.40% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, The First National Bank of St. Ignace paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 16% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.44%
Q2 2026 ·
$316M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
27.3%
Q2 2026
$336M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The First National Bank of St. Ignace, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Christmas Club Savings Account0.50%not stated$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Select Savings Account0.40%$10,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Moola Moola Savings Account0.15%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings Account0.15%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Savings Account0.25%$1,000$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MI
Footprint7 branches in MI
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The First National Bank of St. Ignace behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Select Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.40% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Select Savings Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Savings Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 3, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.40% APY The First National Bank of St. Ignace advertises on Select Savings Account grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,710 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Identity

Who is The First National Bank of St. Ignace?

HeadquartersSt. Ignace, MI
Founded1888
Scale$336M assets · $316M deposits, $230M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 5074

Financial detail is in What The First National Bank of St. Ignace pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The First National Bank of St. Ignace

Is The First National Bank of St. Ignace FDIC insured?

Yes. The First National Bank of St. Ignace is FDIC insured under certificate 5074, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The First National Bank of St. Ignace?

The First National Bank of St. Ignace requires a minimum deposit of $10,000 to open its Select Savings Account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does The First National Bank of St. Ignace have branches?

Yes. The First National Bank of St. Ignace operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The First National Bank of St. Ignace against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The First National Bank of St. Ignace0.50%0.57%not stated7 branches in MI
American Bank and Trust Company, National Association2.84%2.05%not stated8 branches in IA, IL
American Heritage Bank2.15%0.59%$5,00024 branches in OK
Arundel Federal Savings Bank0.80%0.23%$1,0005 branches in MD

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The First National Bank of St. Ignace's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates