The Exchange Bank of Alabama savings and CD rates
The Exchange Bank of Alabama advertises 0.10% APY on its Prime Account. The 0.10% applies to balances up to $34,999.99. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
That is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
Ranked #1976 of 2523 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1851.
Estimate your earnings·What The Exchange Bank of Alabama actually pays
The Exchange Bank of Alabama at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.10% · Prime Account · up to $34,999.99 only |
| Minimum to open | $2,500 · Prime Account |
| Against the national average | 0.27 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.10% · 14 months · 14 Months CD |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · 14 months CD |
| FDIC certificate | 54 · Altoona, AL |
|---|---|
| Website | www.exba.com |
| Branches | 5 branches in AL |
| Availability | Available in AL |
The Exchange Bank of Alabama savings and CD rates
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.66%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.
The Exchange Bank of Alabama CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3 months | 2.00% | $1,000 | 3 Months CD |
| 6 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 6 Months CD |
| 7 months | 4.00% | $1,000 | 7 Months CD |
| 12 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | 12 Months CD |
| 14 months | 4.10% | $1,000 | 14 Months CD |
| 24 months | 2.01% | $1,000 | 2 Year CD |
| 36 months | 2.11% | $1,000 | 3 Year CD |
| 48 months | 2.16% | $1,000 | 4 Year CD |
| 60 months | 2.26% | $1,000 | 5 Year CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for The Exchange Bank of Alabama
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$44.80(0.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$2,500
Projected Balance
$15,544.80
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What The Exchange Bank of Alabama pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.10% applies to balances up to $34,999.99. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.
In Q2 2026, The Exchange Bank of Alabama paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 12% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- The Exchange Bank of Alabama, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prime Account | 0.10% | $2,500 | $0 | $34,999.99 | not stated | not stated | One rate |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 Months CD | 3 months | 2.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Months CD | 6 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Months CD | 7 months | 4.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Months CD | 12 months | 3.00% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 14 Months CD | 14 months | 4.10% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year CD | 24 months | 2.01% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year CD | 36 months | 2.11% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year CD | 48 months | 2.16% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year CD | 60 months | 2.26% | $1,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in AL |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 5 branches in AL |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How The Exchange Bank of Alabama behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Prime Account rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 29, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
$10,000 at the 0.10% APY The Exchange Bank of Alabama advertises on Prime Account grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
The Exchange Bank of Alabama CD rates over time
Who is The Exchange Bank of Alabama?
| Headquarters | Altoona, AL |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1909 |
| Scale | $393M assets · $336M deposits, $204M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 54 |
| Charter state | Alabama · one of 93 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Size | 2,066th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit growth | Higher than at 25% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC) |
Financial detail is in What The Exchange Bank of Alabama pays on deposits above.
Common questions about The Exchange Bank of Alabama
Is The Exchange Bank of Alabama FDIC insured?
Yes. The Exchange Bank of Alabama is FDIC insured under certificate 54, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at The Exchange Bank of Alabama?
The Exchange Bank of Alabama requires a minimum deposit of $2,500 to open its Prime Account, as observed on Sep 29, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does the 0.10% apply to my whole balance?
The 0.10% applies to balances up to $34,999.99. The bank states no rate for the balance above that. Rates are as observed on Sep 29, 2026.
Does The Exchange Bank of Alabama have branches?
Yes. The Exchange Bank of Alabama operates 5 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
The Exchange Bank of Alabama against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Exchange Bank of Alabama | 0.10% | 0.41% | $2,500 | 5 branches in AL |
| Alliance Bank | 0.10% | 1.33% | $300 | 7 branches in IN |
| Andover State Bank | 0.10% | 2.23% | not stated | 2 branches in KS |
| Argentine Federal Savings | 0.10% | 1.99% | $50 | 2 branches in KS |
Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to The Exchange Bank of Alabama's.
Similar banks and related pages
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Other banks chartered in Alabama, nearest to The Exchange Bank of Alabama in deposits:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.