Skip to main content

SSB Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 30431Assets $435M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 12, 2026

SSB Bank advertises 3.71% APY on its America's Finest Saver account. That is 3.33 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #84 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #62.

Estimate your earnings·What SSB Bank actually pays

Key facts

SSB Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.71% · America's Finest Saver · checking account required
Minimum to open$0 · America's Finest Saver
Against the national average3.33 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.24% · 11 months · 11 Month CD - New Money Special
Minimum to open$500 · 11 months CD
Against the national average2.53 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.32% · Premium Money Market · needs at least $50,000 · checking account required · requires direct deposit
Minimum to open$0 · Premium Money Market
Against the national average1.69 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
SSB Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate30431 · Pittsburgh, PA
Websitewww.ssbpgh.com
Branches3 branches in PA
AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Rates

SSB Bank savings, CD and money market rates

4.32% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
3.71% APY
America's Finest Saver
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
3.20% APY
Kasasa Saver
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
Up to2.32% APY
Premium Money Market
Needs at least $50,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $1,000 - $2,499.99
2.02% APY on balances $2,500 - $49,999.99
2.32% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
Up to2.02% APY
Money Market (MM REG)
Needs at least $100,000
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
1.21% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.46% APY on balances $25,000 - $99,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
0.50% APY
Passbook Savings
Needs at least $200
No minimum deposit

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $199.99
0.50% APY on balances $200+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026
4.24% APY
Highest CD · 11 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 12, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

SSB Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months1.65%$1,00091 Day CD
6 months1.75%$1,0006 Month CD
11 months4.24%$50011 Month CD - New Money Special
12 months1.76%$50012 Month CD
18 months1.76%$50018 Month CD
24 months1.76%$50024 Month CD
30 months1.76%$50030 Month CD
36 months1.76%$50036 Month CD
48 months1.81%$50048 Month CD
60 months2.77%$50060 Month CD
61 months4.10%$50061 Month CD - New Money Special
84 months3.02%$50084 Month CD
120 months3.02%$500120 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for SSB Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,700.50(10.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,700.50

Effective APY
4.32%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What SSB Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.66%
Q1 2026 ·
3.71% APY
As observed Sep 12, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, SSB Bank paid a higher average rate than 72% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$384M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
27.8%
Q1 2026
$435M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • SSB Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Christmas Club4.32%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate
America's Finest Saver3.71%$0$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Kasasa Saver3.20%$0$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.50%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered
Premium Money Market2.32%$0$1,000Nonenot statedDirect deposit · Checking accountTiered
Money Market (MM REG)2.02%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD3 months1.65%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months1.75%$1,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD - New Money Special11 months4.24%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD30 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.76%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.81%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months2.77%$500not statednot stated
61 Month CD - New Money Special61 months4.10%$500not statednot stated
84 Month CD84 months3.02%$500not statednot stated
120 Month CD120 months3.02%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Footprint3 branches in PA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How SSB Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised America's Finest Saver rate in the last 12 months was 3.71% (observed through Sep 12, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

America's Finest Saver
The same as 7 days ago.
11 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.71% APY SSB Bank advertises on America's Finest Saver grows to $10,371 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,034 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

SSB Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is SSB Bank?

HeadquartersPittsburgh, PA
Founded1922
Scale$435M assets · $384M deposits, $277M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 30431

Financial detail is in What SSB Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about SSB Bank

Is SSB Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. SSB Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 30431, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at SSB Bank?

SSB Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its America's Finest Saver account, as observed on Sep 12, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does SSB Bank have branches?

Yes. SSB Bank operates 3 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

SSB Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
SSB Bank4.32%2.66%$03 branches in PA
Ultima Bank Minnesota4.32%3.17%$1006 branches in MN
Grand Rapids State Bank4.33%0.70%$5002 branches in MN
Riverside Bank of Dublin4.33%3.54%not stated3 branches in OH

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to SSB Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates