Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB savings, CD and money market rates
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB advertises 0.40% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.02 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #430 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #345.
Estimate your earnings·What Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB actually pays
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.40% · Statement Savings |
| Minimum to open | $50 · Statement Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.02 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 3.70% · 13 months · 13 Months CD |
| Minimum to open | $5,000 · 13 months CD |
| Against the national average | 1.99 percentage points above the 1.71% FDIC 12-month CD average (Aug 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 1.11% · Money Market Account · needs at least $150,000 |
| Minimum to open | $1,000 · Money Market Account |
| Against the national average | 0.48 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 28471 · Roxboro, NC |
|---|---|
| Website | www.roxborosavings.com |
| Branches | 2 branches in NC |
| Availability | Available in NC |
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.40% | $500 | 91 Days CD |
| 3-9 months | 2.75% | $100,000 | 90 to 270 Days CD |
| 6 months | 3.65% | $500 | 6 Months CD |
| 6 months | 3.65% | $15,000 | 6 Months CD ($15,000 Minimum) |
| 10 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 10 Months CD |
| 11 months | 3.50% | $500 | 11 Months CD |
| 12 months | 0.15% | $500 | 12 Months CD |
| 13 months | 3.70% | $5,000 | 13 Months CD |
| 15 months | 3.30% | $500 | 15 Months CD |
| 18 months | 3.25% | $500 | 18 Months CD |
| 20 months | 2.20% | $500 | 20 Months CD |
| 24 months | 3.25% | $500 | 24 Months CD |
| 27 months | 0.55% | $5,000 | 27 Months CD |
| 30 months | 0.65% | $500 | 30 Months CD |
| 36 months | 0.65% | $500 | 36 Months CD |
| 48 months | 0.80% | $500 | 48 Months CD |
| 60 months | 3.00% | $500 | 60 Months CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 18 months | 3.45% | $100 | 18 Months IRA |
| 24 months | 2.50% | $100 | 24 Months IRA |
| 60 months | 3.00% | $100 | 60 Months IRA |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$187.40(1.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,187.40
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB paid a higher average rate than 52% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal | ||||||||
| Christmas Club | 0.50% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Statement Savings | 0.40% | $50 | $0 | None | No fee if balance over $50, otherwise $3 per quarter | not stated | One rate | |
| Money Market Account | 1.11% | $1,000 | $0 | None | No fee if balance over $1,000; $5 if over $500 but less than $1,000; $10 if under $500 | not stated | Tiered | |
| IRA | ||||||||
| Education IRA | 2.50% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| ROTH IRA | 2.50% | $100 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 91 Days CD | 3 months | 3.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 90 to 270 Days CD | 3-9 months | 2.75% | $100,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Months CD | 6 months | 3.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Months CD ($15,000 Minimum) | 6 months | 3.65% | $15,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 10 Months CD | 10 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Months CD | 11 months | 3.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Months CD | 12 months | 0.15% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 13 Months CD | 13 months | 3.70% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Months CD | 15 months | 3.30% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Months CD | 18 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 20 Months CD | 20 months | 2.20% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Months CD | 24 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 27 Months CD | 27 months | 0.55% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Months CD | 30 months | 0.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 36 Months CD | 36 months | 0.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 48 Months CD | 48 months | 0.80% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Months CD | 60 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 18 Months IRA | 18 months | 3.45% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Months IRA | 24 months | 2.50% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
| 60 Months IRA | 60 months | 3.00% | $100 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in NC |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 2 branches in NC |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.40% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
- Statement Savings
- The same as 7 days ago.
- 13 months CD
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Money Market Account
- The same as 7 days ago.
- Rate last changed
- Aug 18, 2026(effective date)
$10,000 at the 0.40% APY Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,714 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB CD rates over time
Who is Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB?
| Headquarters | Roxboro, NC |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1923 |
| Scale | $358M assets · $290M deposits, $243M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 28471 |
Financial detail is in What Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB
Is Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB FDIC insured?
Yes. Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB is FDIC insured under certificate 28471, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB?
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB have branches?
Yes. Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB | 2.50% | 2.29% | $100 | 2 branches in NC |
| American Bank and Trust Company, National Association | 2.84% | 2.03% | not stated | 8 branches in IA, IL |
| American Heritage Bank | 2.15% | 1.94% | $5,000 | 24 branches in OK |
| Arundel Federal Savings Bank | 0.80% | 2.18% | $1,000 | 5 branches in MD |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Roxboro Savings Bank, SSB's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.