Skip to main content

Mutual Federal Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28302Assets $97M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Mutual Federal Bank advertises 0.25% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.12 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #1221 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1058.

Estimate your earnings·What Mutual Federal Bank actually pays

Key facts

Mutual Federal Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.25% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.12 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.53% · 9 months · 9 Month Certificate - Special Rate
Minimum to open$1,000 · 9 months CD
Money market
Top money market APY0.75% · Personal Money Market · needs at least $2,500
Minimum to open$200 · Personal Money Market
Against the national average0.12 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Mutual Federal Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate28302 · Chicago, IL
Websitewww.mutualfederalbank.com
Branches1 branch in IL
AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Rates

Mutual Federal Bank savings, CD and money market rates

0.75% APY
Personal Money Market
Needs at least $2,500
$200 minimum

How the rate applies

0.25% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
0.75% APY on balances $2,500+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
0.25% APY
Passbook Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
3.53% APY
Highest CD · 9 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Mutual Federal Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months0.65%$1,0006 Month Certificate
9 months3.53%$1,0009 Month Certificate - Special Rate
12 months0.65%$5001 Year Certificate
24 months0.65%$5002 Year Certificate
36 months0.65%$5003 Year Certificate
60 months0.65%$5005 Year Certificate

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Mutual Federal Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Passbook Savings0.25% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$93.40(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,093.40

Effective APY
0.25%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Mutual Federal Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.28%
Q2 2026 ·
0.25% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Mutual Federal Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 7% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.56%
Q2 2026 ·
$64M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
6.5%
Q2 2026
$97M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Mutual Federal Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Personal Money Market0.75%$200$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6 Month Certificate6 months0.65%$1,000not statednot stated
9 Month Certificate - Special Rate9 months3.53%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year Certificate12 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
2 Year Certificate24 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
3 Year Certificate36 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
5 Year Certificate60 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in IL
Footprint1 branch in IL
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Mutual Federal Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.25% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Rate last changed
Sep 16, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.25% APY Mutual Federal Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,025 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,695 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Mutual Federal Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Mutual Federal Bank?

HeadquartersChicago, IL
Founded1905
Scale$97M assets · $64M deposits, $59M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28302
Charter stateIllinois · one of 325 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size3,853rd-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 22% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Mutual Federal Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Mutual Federal Bank

Is Mutual Federal Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Mutual Federal Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 28302, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Mutual Federal Bank?

Mutual Federal Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Mutual Federal Bank have branches?

Yes. Mutual Federal Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Mutual Federal Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Mutual Federal Bank0.25%0.28%$1001 branch in IL
Adrian Bank0.25%1.02%$1003 branches in MO
Alliance Community Bank0.25%0.56%$1006 branches in IL
Anderson Brothers Bank0.25%2.57%$5027 branches in SC

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to Mutual Federal Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Illinois, nearest to Mutual Federal Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

State pages: banks in Illinois.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates