Skip to main content

The Berkshire Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 27503Assets $530M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

The Berkshire Bank advertises up to 0.60% APY on its Statement Savings account. The 0.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

On a $10,000 balance the account earns 0.50% overall, about $50 in a year, which is 0.13 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #773 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #741. The advertised rate has not changed in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Estimate your earnings·What The Berkshire Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Berkshire Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 0.60% · Statement Savings · needs at least $100,000
Minimum to open$100 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.23 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY2.53% · 6 months · 6 Month CD
Minimum to open$10,000 · 6 months CD
Against the national average1.12 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
The Berkshire Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate27503 · New York, NY
Websitewww.berkbank.com
Branches7 branches in NY
AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Rates

The Berkshire Bank savings and CD rates

Up to0.60% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $100,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $300 - $9,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999.99
0.60% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.55% APY
Statement Super Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $15,000 - $999,999.99
0.55% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
Up to0.30% APY
Blue Ribbon Savings
On balances of $1,000,000 to $3,999,999.99 · 0.10% below
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $10,000 - $249,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $250,000 - $999,999.99
0.30% APY on balances $1,000,000 - $3,999,999.99
0.10% APY on balances $4,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026
2.53% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Berkshire Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
1 months0.10%$10,0001 Month CD
3 months2.02%$10,0003 Month CD
6 months2.53%$10,0006 Month CD
9 months2.53%$10,0009 Month CD
12 months2.53%$10,00012 Month CD
18 months1.26%$10,00018 Month CD
24 months1.26%$10,00024 Month CD
36 months1.01%$10,00036 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Berkshire Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% ($300 - $9,999.99), 0.50% ($10,000 - $99,999.99), 0.60% ($100,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$111.10(0.8%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,111.10

Effective APY
0.30%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Berkshire Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.01%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to0.60% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%.

In Q2 2026, The Berkshire Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 33% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.27%
Q2 2026 ·
$398M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.9%
Q2 2026
$530M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Berkshire Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Statement Savings0.60%$100$300None$5 monthly fee; avoided with a $300 average daily collected balancenot statedTiered
Statement Super Savings0.55%$100$15,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Blue Ribbon Savings0.30%$100$10,000$3,999,999.99not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
1 Month CD1 months0.10%$10,000not statednot stated
3 Month CD3 months2.02%$10,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months2.53%$10,000not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months2.53%$10,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months2.53%$10,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.26%$10,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.26%$10,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.01%$10,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in NY
Footprint7 branches in NY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Berkshire Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.60% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

The Berkshire Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 0.60% APY The Berkshire Bank advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,060 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,729 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Berkshire Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is The Berkshire Bank?

HeadquartersNew York, NY
Founded1989
Scale$530M assets · $398M deposits, $302M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 27503
Charter stateNew York · one of 107 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size1,841st-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 2% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What The Berkshire Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Berkshire Bank

Is The Berkshire Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Berkshire Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 27503, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Berkshire Bank?

The Berkshire Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.60% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.60% needs a balance of at least $100,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.10%. Rates are as observed on Sep 23, 2026.

Does The Berkshire Bank have branches?

Yes. The Berkshire Bank operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Berkshire Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Berkshire Bank0.60%1.01%$1007 branches in NY
5Star Bank0.60%2.57%$1006 branches in CO
Alma Bank0.60%2.42%$10,00013 branches in NJ, NY
Chelsea State Bank0.60%0.94%$14 branches in MI

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to The Berkshire Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in New York, nearest to The Berkshire Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

State pages: banks in New York.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates