Skip to main content

KCB Bank savings rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15194Assets $322M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

KCB Bank advertises 2.00% APY on its Smart Choice Savings account. The 2.00% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.

A checking account at the bank is required. That is 1.63 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #412 of 2284 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #269.

Estimate your earnings·What KCB Bank actually pays

Key facts

KCB Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.00% · Smart Choice Savings · up to $50,000 only · checking account required
Minimum to open$20 · Smart Choice Savings
Against the national average1.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
KCB Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate15194 · Lakin, KS
Websitewww.kcbks.bank
Branches2 branches in KS
AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Rates

KCB Bank savings rates

2.00% APY
Smart Choice Savings
On balances up to $50,000 · no rate stated above
$20 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for KCB Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Smart Choice Savings2.00% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$764.20(5.2%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,764.20

Effective APY
2.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What KCB Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.35%
Q2 2026 ·
2.00% APY
As observed Sep 23, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 2.00% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that.

In Q2 2026, KCB Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 80% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.70%
Q2 2026 ·
$284M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
16.4%
Q2 2026
$322M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • KCB Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Smart Choice Savings2.00%$20$0$50,000not statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in KS
Footprint2 branches in KS
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How KCB Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Smart Choice Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.00% (observed through Sep 23, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Smart Choice Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 14, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.00% APY KCB Bank advertises on Smart Choice Savings grows to $10,200 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,865 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Identity

Who is KCB Bank?

HeadquartersLakin, KS
Founded1888
Scale$322M assets · $284M deposits, $237M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15194
Charter stateKansas · one of 185 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size2,305th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 43% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What KCB Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about KCB Bank

Is KCB Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. KCB Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 15194, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at KCB Bank?

KCB Bank requires a minimum deposit of $20 to open its Smart Choice Savings account, as observed on Sep 23, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 2.00% apply to my whole balance?

The 2.00% applies to balances up to $50,000. The bank states no rate for the balance above that. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 23, 2026.

Does KCB Bank have branches?

Yes. KCB Bank operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

KCB Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
KCB Bank2.00%2.35%$202 branches in KS
Century Bank2.00%0.77%$2,0009 branches in NM
Eagle Bank2.00%2.30%$25,0006 branches in MA, ME
Elkton Bank & Trust Company2.00%0.67%$504 branches in KY

Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to KCB Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Other banks chartered in Kansas, nearest to KCB Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates.

State pages: banks in Kansas.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates