Skip to main content

Headwaters State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 9035Assets $122M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 22, 2026

Headwaters State Bank advertises 1.00% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.63 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #528 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #362.

Estimate your earnings·What Headwaters State Bank actually pays

Key facts

Headwaters State Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY1.00% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.63 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.25% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$5,000 · 7 months CD
Against the national average2.84 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Sep 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 3.04% · First Addition Money Market · needs at least $200,000
Minimum to open$10,000 · First Addition Money Market
Against the national average2.41 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Headwaters State Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate9035 · Land O' Lakes, WI
Websitewww.headwatersstatebank.com
Branches2 branches in WI
AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Rates

Headwaters State Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to3.04% APY
First Addition Money Market
Needs at least $200,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.26% APY on balances $1 - $9,999.99
1.51% APY on balances $10,000 - $49,999.99
1.76% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
2.27% APY on balances $100,000 - $199,999.99
3.04% APY on balances $200,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
Up to2.02% APY
Health Savings Account
Health Savings (HSA)
Needs at least $25,000
$1 minimum

How the rate applies

0.50% APY on balances $0 - $499.99
0.75% APY on balances $500 - $9,999.99
1.26% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $25,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
2.00% APY
Christmas Club Savings
Club Savings
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
1.00% APY
Passbook Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
1.00% APY
Regular Money Market
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
4.25% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
$5,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

IRA

1.00% APY
IRA Savings Account
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026
2.57% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Business

1.00% APY
Commercial Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 22, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Headwaters State Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months1.66%$1,0003 Month CD
6 months1.76%$1,0006 Month CD
7 months4.25%$5,0007 Month CD Special
12 months1.86%$1,0001 Year CD
14 months4.04%$5,00014 Month CD Special
15 months1.26%$1,00015 Month CD
24 months1.96%$1,0002 Year CD
36 months2.06%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months2.26%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months2.57%$1,0005 Year CD
IRA CDs
3 months1.66%$1,0003 Month CD (IRA)
6 months1.76%$1,0006 Month CD (IRA)
12 months1.86%$1,0001 Year CD (IRA)
15 months1.26%$1,00015 Month CD (IRA)
24 months1.96%$1,0002 Year CD (IRA)
36 months2.06%$1,0003 Year CD (IRA)
48 months2.26%$1,0004 Year CD (IRA)
60 months2.57%$1,0005 Year CD (IRA)

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Headwaters State Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.50% to 2.02% APY across 4 balance tiers.
0.50% APY on balances $0 - $499.99
0.75% APY on balances $500 - $9,999.99
1.26% APY on balances $10,000 - $24,999.99
2.02% APY on balances $25,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$379.40(2.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,379.40

Effective APY
1.01%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Headwaters State Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.35%
Q2 2026 ·
1.00% APY
As observed Sep 22, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Headwaters State Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 46% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.84%
Q2 2026 ·
$103M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
14.6%
Q2 2026
$122M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Headwaters State Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Health Savings Account2.02%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Christmas Club Savings2.00%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings1.00%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
First Addition Money Market3.04%$10,000$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Regular Money Market1.00%$2,500$1Nonenot statednot statedTiered
IRA
IRA Savings Account1.00%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Business
Commercial Savings1.00%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Month CD3 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months4.25%$5,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months1.86%$1,000not statednot stated
14 Month CD Special14 months4.04%$5,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD15 months1.26%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months1.96%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months2.06%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months2.26%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.57%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
3 Month CD (IRA)3 months1.66%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD (IRA)6 months1.76%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD (IRA)12 months1.86%$1,000not statednot stated
15 Month CD (IRA)15 months1.26%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD (IRA)24 months1.96%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD (IRA)36 months2.06%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD (IRA)48 months2.26%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD (IRA)60 months2.57%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in WI
Footprint2 branches in WI
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Headwaters State Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 1.00% (observed through Sep 22, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
7 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
First Addition Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 9, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 1.00% APY Headwaters State Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,100 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,768 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Headwaters State Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Headwaters State Bank?

HeadquartersLand O' Lakes, WI
Founded1921
Scale$122M assets · $103M deposits, $88M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 9035

Financial detail is in What Headwaters State Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Headwaters State Bank

Is Headwaters State Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Headwaters State Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 9035, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Headwaters State Bank?

Headwaters State Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 22, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Headwaters State Bank have branches?

Yes. Headwaters State Bank operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Headwaters State Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Headwaters State Bank3.04%1.35%$10,0002 branches in WI
Coleman County State Bank3.04%1.42%$1007 branches in TX
First Bankers Trust Company, National Association2.02%0.89%$509 branches in IL
First Federal Savings and Loan Association of Van Wert3.56%1.10%$5,0002 branches in OH

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Headwaters State Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates