Skip to main content

Gate City Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 27774Assets $4.0B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 2, 2026

Gate City Bank advertises 2.80% APY on its High Yield Savings account. The 2.80% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.35%.

Ranked #125 of 402 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. The advertised rate has not changed in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What Gate City Bank actually pays

Key facts

Gate City Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.80% · High Yield Savings · needs at least $50,000
Minimum to open$50,000 · High Yield Savings
Against the national average2.42 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 5 months · 5 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$1,000 · 5 months CD
Against the national average2.59 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 2.50% · Money Market Savings · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$500 · Money Market Savings
Against the national average1.87 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Gate City Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate27774 · Fargo, ND
Websitewww.gatecity.bank
Branches46 branches in MN, ND
AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND
Rates

Gate City Bank savings, CD and money market rates

2.80% APY
High Yield Savings
Needs at least $50,000
$50,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.35% APY on balances $0 - $49,999.99
2.80% APY on balances $50,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
Up to2.50% APY
Money Market Savings
Needs at least $1,000,000
$500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.35% APY on balances $500 - $99,999.99
0.50% APY on balances $100,000 - $249,999.99
1.00% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
2.00% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
2.50% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.15% APY
Relationship Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
0.10% APY
Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 5 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 2, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Gate City Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months3.40%$1,0003 Month Relationship CD
3 months2.90%$1,0003 Month CD
5 months4.00%$1,0005 Month CD Special
6 months3.35%$1,0006 Month Relationship CD
6 months2.85%$1,0006 Month CD
12 months3.00%$1,0001 Year Relationship CD
12 months2.50%$1,0001 Year CD
13 months3.25%$1,00013 Month CD Special
24 months3.00%$1,0002 Year Relationship CD
24 months2.50%$1,0002 Year CD
36 months3.60%$1,0003 Year Relationship CD
36 months3.10%$1,0003 Year CD
48 months3.50%$1,0004 Year Relationship CD
48 months3.00%$1,0004 Year CD
60 months2.75%$1,0005 Year Relationship CD
60 months2.25%$1,0005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Gate City Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.35% ($0 - $49,999.99), 2.80% ($50,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$8,336.00(11.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $50,000

Projected Balance

$71,336.00

Effective APY
2.80%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Gate City Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.39%
Q1 2026 ·
2.80% APY
As observed Sep 2, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 2.80% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.35%.

In Q1 2026, Gate City Bank paid a higher average rate than 9% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$3.6B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
13.1%
Q1 2026
$4.0B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Gate City Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
High Yield Savings2.80%$50,000$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Relationship Savings0.15%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Savings0.10%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Savings2.50%$500$500Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
3 Month Relationship CD3 months3.40%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Month CD3 months2.90%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Month CD Special5 months4.00%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month Relationship CD6 months3.35%$1,000not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months2.85%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year Relationship CD12 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
1 Year CD12 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months3.25%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year Relationship CD24 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months2.50%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year Relationship CD36 months3.60%$1,000not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months3.10%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year Relationship CD48 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months3.00%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year Relationship CD60 months2.75%$1,000not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.25%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MN, ND
Footprint46 branches in MN, ND
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Gate City Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised High Yield Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.80% (observed through Sep 2, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Gate City Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

High Yield Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
5 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 15, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.80% APY Gate City Bank advertises on High Yield Savings grows to $10,280 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,946 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Gate City Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Gate City Bank?

HeadquartersFargo, ND
Founded1923
Scale$4.0B assets · $3.6B deposits, $3.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 27774

Financial detail is in What Gate City Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Gate City Bank

Is Gate City Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Gate City Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 27774, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Gate City Bank?

Gate City Bank requires a minimum deposit of $50,000 to open its High Yield Savings account, as observed on Sep 2, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 2.80% apply to my whole balance?

The 2.80% needs a balance of at least $50,000. Below that, the account advertises 0.35%. Rates are as observed on Sep 2, 2026.

Does Gate City Bank have branches?

Yes. Gate City Bank operates 46 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Gate City Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Gate City Bank2.80%1.39%$50,00046 branches in MN, ND
Citibank2.80%2.65%$0955 branches across 14 states
Citizens Access™2.80%2.00%$0not stated
FirstBank of Nebraska2.78%2.83%$2,5004 branches in NE

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Gate City Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates