First National Bank of Michigan savings, CD and money market rates
First National Bank of Michigan advertises 0.10% APY on its First Personal Savings account. That is 0.27 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).
Ranked #1733 of 2413 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1596.
Estimate your earnings·What First National Bank of Michigan actually pays
First National Bank of Michigan at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.10% · First Personal Savings |
| Minimum to open | $100 · First Personal Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.27 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.75% · 36 months · 3 Year Rising Rate CD |
| Minimum to open | $10,000 · 36 months CD |
| Against the national average | 3.39 percentage points above the 1.36% FDIC 36-month CD average (Sep 2026) |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | Up to 1.00% · First Growth Money Market · needs at least $250,000 |
| Minimum to open | $100 · First Growth Money Market |
| Against the national average | 0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 58259 · Kalamazoo, MI |
|---|---|
| Website | www.fnbmichigan.bank |
| Branches | 7 branches in MI |
| Availability | Available in MI |
First National Bank of Michigan savings, CD and money market rates
How the rate applies
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 59 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.02% or more. See the highest savings rates.
First National Bank of Michigan CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 months | 4.20% | $10,000 | 7 Month CD |
| 12 months | 4.35% | $10,000 | 12 Month CD |
| 18 months | 4.50% | $10,000 | 18 Month Rising Rate CD |
| 36 months | 4.75% | $10,000 | 3 Year Rising Rate CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for First National Bank of Michigan
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$37.30(0.3%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,037.30
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What First National Bank of Michigan pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, First National Bank of Michigan paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 75% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
- First National Bank of Michigan, savings and money market
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Personal Savings | 0.10% | $100 | $0 | None | A minimum monthly balance of $300 is required to avoid fees. | not stated | One rate | |
| Health Savings Account | 0.01% | $100 | $0 | None | Average monthly balance of $1,000 is required to avoid fees. | not stated | Tiered | |
| First Growth Money Market | 1.00% | $100 | $0 | None | A minimum monthly balance of $10,000 is required to avoid fees. | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 Month CD | 7 months | 4.20% | $10,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 12 Month CD | 12 months | 4.35% | $10,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month Rising Rate CD | 18 months | 4.50% | $10,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year Rising Rate CD | 36 months | 4.75% | $10,000 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Available in MI |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 7 branches in MI |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How First National Bank of Michigan behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised First Personal Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 28, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
$10,000 at the 0.10% APY First National Bank of Michigan advertises on First Personal Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,681 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
First National Bank of Michigan CD rates over time
Who is First National Bank of Michigan?
| Headquarters | Kalamazoo, MI |
|---|---|
| Founded | 2006 |
| Scale | $989M assets · $807M deposits, $660M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 58259 |
| Charter state | Michigan · one of 72 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Size | 1,066th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit growth | Higher than at 48% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC) |
Financial detail is in What First National Bank of Michigan pays on deposits above.
Common questions about First National Bank of Michigan
Is First National Bank of Michigan FDIC insured?
Yes. First National Bank of Michigan is FDIC insured under certificate 58259, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at First National Bank of Michigan?
First National Bank of Michigan requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its First Personal Savings account, as observed on Sep 28, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does First National Bank of Michigan have branches?
Yes. First National Bank of Michigan operates 7 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
First National Bank of Michigan against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid on savings and money market deposits (Q2 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First National Bank of Michigan | 0.10% | 2.15% | $100 | 7 branches in MI |
| Alliance Bank | 0.10% | 1.33% | $300 | 7 branches in IN |
| Andover State Bank | 0.10% | 2.23% | not stated | 2 branches in KS |
| Argentine Federal Savings | 0.10% | 1.99% | $50 | 2 branches in KS |
Each savings APY is the top rate of the account the bank's own page leads with. Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose savings APY is closest to First National Bank of Michigan's.
Similar banks and related pages
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Other banks chartered in Michigan, nearest to First National Bank of Michigan in deposits:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.