Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank advertises 0.60% APY on its eAccess Savings account. That is 0.22 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).
Ranked #305 of 803 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #228.
Estimate your earnings·What Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank actually pays
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank at a glance
| Savings | |
|---|---|
| Top savings APY | 0.60% · eAccess Savings |
| Minimum to open | $10 · eAccess Savings |
| Against the national average | 0.22 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026) |
| CDs | |
| Top CD APY | 4.30% · 15 months · 15 Month CD |
| Minimum to open | $500 · 15 months CD |
| Money market | |
| Top money market APY | 2.48% · Accelerator Money Market |
| Minimum to open | $25,000 · Accelerator Money Market |
| Against the national average | 1.85 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026) |
| FDIC certificate | 23286 · Fall River, MA |
|---|---|
| Website | www.bankfive.com |
| Branches | 18 branches in MA, RI |
| Availability | Nationally available |
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank savings, CD and money market rates
Personal
How the rate applies
IRA
Rates are APY. The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank CD rates
| Term | APY | Minimum | Product |
|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||
| 3 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 3 Month CD Special |
| 6 months | 2.50% | $500 | 6 Month CD |
| 6 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | 6 Month CD Special |
| 7 months | 3.25% | $500 | 7 Month Statement CD |
| 11 months | 3.75% | $500 | 11 Month CD |
| 12 months | 1.00% | $500 | 1 Year CD |
| 15 months | 4.30% | $500 | 15 Month CD |
| 18 months | 3.25% | $500 | 18 Month CD |
| 24 months | 3.00% | $500 | 24 Month CD |
| 36 months | 0.75% | $500 | 3 Year CD |
| 48 months | 0.90% | $500 | 4 Year CD |
| 60 months | 0.65% | $500 | 5 Year CD |
| IRA CDs | |||
| 6 months | 2.50% | $500 | 6 Month IRA CD |
| 12 months | 2.75% | $500 | 1 Year IRA CD |
| 15 months | 4.30% | $500 | 15 Month IRA CD |
| 18 months | 0.35% | $500 | 18 Month IRA CD |
| 24 months | 0.40% | $500 | 2 Year IRA CD |
| 30 months | 0.45% | $500 | 30 Month IRA CD |
| 36 months | 0.75% | $500 | 3 Year IRA CD |
| 60 months | 0.65% | $500 | 5 Year IRA CD |
Interactive Tool
Calculate Savings for Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank
All calculations are based on APY.
Savings Breakdown
- Interest Earned+$225.20(1.6%)
- Total Contributions$13,000
- Initial Deposit$1,000
Projected Balance
$14,225.20
The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.
What Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank pays on deposits
FDIC call report data
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q1 2026, Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank paid a higher average rate than 55% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).
- Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank, avg rate paid
- All-bank median
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.
So what is the catch?
| Product | APY | Min to open | Min to earn | Balance cap | Monthly fee | Requirements | Rate type | 12-mo trend |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| eAccess Savings | 0.60% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Nickels Savings | 0.10% | $5 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Student Savings | 0.05% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Lucky Piggy Savings | 0.05% | $25 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Statement Savings | 0.05% | $10 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| Accelerator Money Market | 2.48% | $25,000 | $0 | None | not stated | not stated | One rate | |
| High Option Money Market | 0.15% | $100 | $100 | None | not stated | not stated | Tiered |
Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.
The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.
CDs
| Product | Term | APY | Min to open | Early withdrawal fee | Compounding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Personal CDs | |||||
| 3 Month CD Special | 3 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD | 6 months | 2.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 6 Month CD Special | 6 months | 3.00% | $5,000 | not stated | not stated |
| 7 Month Statement CD | 7 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 11 Month CD | 11 months | 3.75% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 Year CD | 12 months | 1.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Month CD | 15 months | 4.30% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month CD | 18 months | 3.25% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 24 Month CD | 24 months | 3.00% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year CD | 36 months | 0.75% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 4 Year CD | 48 months | 0.90% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year CD | 60 months | 0.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| IRA CDs | |||||
| 6 Month IRA CD | 6 months | 2.50% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 1 Year IRA CD | 12 months | 2.75% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 15 Month IRA CD | 15 months | 4.30% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 18 Month IRA CD | 18 months | 0.35% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 2 Year IRA CD | 24 months | 0.40% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 30 Month IRA CD | 30 months | 0.45% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 3 Year IRA CD | 36 months | 0.75% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
| 5 Year IRA CD | 60 months | 0.65% | $500 | not stated | not stated |
Opening and using the account
| Availability | Nationally available |
|---|---|
| Footprint | 18 branches in MA, RI |
| Eligibility | not stated |
How Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank behaves over time
Every observation of the advertised eAccess Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.60% (observed through Sep 11, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.
Banksparency observed no cuts to Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank's advertised savings rate in the last 12 months, a period with 3 Federal Reserve cuts.
Recent rate changes, as observed
- Obs. Sep 3, 2026Accelerator Money MarketRaise:2.42%to2.48%
- Obs. Sep 2, 202615 Month CDRaise:4.00%to4.30%
- eAccess Savings
- The same as 30 days ago.
- 15 months CD
- Up 0.30 percentage points from 30 days ago.
- Accelerator Money Market
- Up 0.06 percentage points from 30 days ago.
$10,000 at the 0.60% APY Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank advertises on eAccess Savings grows to $10,060 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (Consumer Price Index (CPI)). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,733 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank CD rates over time
Who is Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank?
| Headquarters | Fall River, MA |
|---|---|
| Founded | 1855 |
| Scale | $1.9B assets · $1.4B deposits, $1.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC) |
| Deposit insurance | FDIC insured · Certificate 23286 |
| BBB rating | A+ · Not BBB Accredited |
| Affiliated institution | Bank5 Connect |
Financial detail is in What Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank pays on deposits above.
Common questions about Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank
Is Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank FDIC insured?
Yes. Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 23286, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.
What is the minimum deposit at Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank?
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its eAccess Savings account, as observed on Sep 11, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.
Does Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank have branches?
Yes. Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank operates 18 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.
Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank against its closest alternatives
| Bank | Savings APY | Rate paid (Q1 2026) | Min deposit | Branches |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank | 2.48% | 2.35% | $25,000 | 18 branches in MA, RI |
| Alma Bank | 0.60% | 2.98% | $10,000 | 13 branches in NJ, NY |
| Chelsea State Bank | 1.56% | 1.72% | $1 | 4 branches in MI |
| Farmers State Bank | 0.90% | 2.00% | $25,000 | 8 branches in TX |
Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Fall River Five Cents Savings Bank's.
Similar banks and rate hubs
Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:
Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.