Skip to main content

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 23623Assets $6.6B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly advertises up to 3.00% APY on its High-Rate Savings Account. The 3.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 1.60%.

A checking account at the bank is required. On a $10,000 balance the account earns 1.75% overall, about $175 in a year, which is 1.37 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #192 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #193.

Estimate your earnings·What The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly actually pays

Key facts

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly at a glance

Savings
Top savings APYUp to 3.00% · High-Rate Savings Account · needs at least $250,000 · checking account required
Minimum to open$10,000 · High-Rate Savings Account
Against the national average2.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.30% · 6 months · 6 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 6 months CD
Against the national average1.89 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly bank facts
FDIC certificate23623 · Westerly, RI
Websitewww.washtrust.com
Branches30 branches in CT, RI
AvailabilityAvailable in CT, RI
Rates

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly savings and CD rates

Up to3.00% APY
High-Rate Savings Account
Needs at least $250,000
$10,000 minimum

How the rate applies

1.60% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
1.75% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.85% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.90% APY on balances $50,000 - $249,999.99
3.00% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.30% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months1.10%$50091 Day CD
6 months3.30%$5006 Month CD
9 months3.25%$5009 Month CD
12 months1.10%$50012 Month CD
18 months1.15%$50018 Month CD
24 months1.20%$5002 Year CD
36 months1.45%$5003 Year CD
48 months1.65%$5004 Year CD
60 months2.75%$5005 Year CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly

All calculations are based on APY.

High-Rate Savings Account1.60% - 3.00% APY
$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 1.60% to 3.00% APY across 5 balance tiers.
1.60% APY on balances $0 - $2,499.99
1.75% APY on balances $2,500 - $24,999.99
1.85% APY on balances $25,000 - $49,999.99
2.90% APY on balances $50,000 - $249,999.99
3.00% APY on balances $250,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,482.10(6.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $10,000

Projected Balance

$24,482.10

Effective APY
1.75%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

1.65%
Q2 2026 ·
Up to3.00% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 1.60%.

In Q2 2026, The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 58% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.37%
Q2 2026 ·
$5.4B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
12.1%
Q2 2026
$6.6B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
High-Rate Savings Account3.00%$10,000$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD3 months1.10%$500not statednot stated
6 Month CD6 months3.30%$500not statednot stated
9 Month CD9 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.10%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.15%$500not statednot stated
2 Year CD24 months1.20%$500not statednot stated
3 Year CD36 months1.45%$500not statednot stated
4 Year CD48 months1.65%$500not statednot stated
5 Year CD60 months2.75%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in CT, RI
Footprint30 branches in CT, RI
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised High-Rate Savings Account rate in the last 12 months was 3.00% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

High-Rate Savings Account
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 3, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 3.00% APY The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly advertises on High-Rate Savings Account grows to $10,300 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,965 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly CD rates over time

Identity

Who is The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly?

HeadquartersWesterly, RI
Founded1800
Scale$6.6B assets · $5.4B deposits, $4.7B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 23623

Financial detail is in What The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly

Is The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly FDIC insured?

Yes. The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly is FDIC insured under certificate 23623, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly?

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly requires a minimum deposit of $10,000 to open its High-Rate Savings Account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 3.00% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.00% needs a balance of at least $250,000. Below that, the account advertises 1.60%. A checking account at the bank is required. Rates are as observed on Sep 9, 2026.

Does The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly have branches?

Yes. The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly operates 30 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly3.00%1.65%$10,00030 branches in CT, RI
Ally Bank3.00%3.03%$01 branch in UT
American Express3.00%3.21%$01 branch in UT
BMO Alto3.00%1.61%$0not stated

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Washington Trust Company, of Westerly's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates