Skip to main content

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank savings rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 11868Assets $3.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank advertises 0.35% APY on its Optimum Choice Savings account. The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

That is 0.02 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

Ranked #867 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #709.

Estimate your earnings·What The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank actually pays

Key facts

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.35% · Optimum Choice Savings · needs at least $100
Minimum to open$100 · Optimum Choice Savings
Against the national average0.02 percentage points below the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate11868 · Dunmore, PA
Websitewww.bankatfidelity.com
Branches23 branches in PA
AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Rates

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank savings rates

0.35% APY
Optimum Choice Savings
Needs at least $100
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $99.99
0.35% APY on balances $100+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.25% APY
Statement Savings
Needs at least $100
$100 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $99.99
0.25% APY on balances $100+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Scholar Savings
Student Savings
Needs at least $50
$25 minimum

How the rate applies

0.00% APY on balances $0 - $49.99
0.05% APY on balances $50+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.00% ($0 - $99.99), 0.35% ($100+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$131.00(0.9%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,131.00

Effective APY
0.35%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.03%
Q2 2026 ·
0.35% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%.

In Q2 2026, The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 72% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.20%
Q2 2026 ·
$2.6B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.1%
Q2 2026
$3.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Optimum Choice Savings0.35%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Statement Savings0.25%$100$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Scholar Savings0.05%$25$0Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in PA
Footprint23 branches in PA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Optimum Choice Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.35% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Optimum Choice Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 6, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.35% APY The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank advertises on Optimum Choice Savings grows to $10,035 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,705 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Identity

Who is The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank?

HeadquartersDunmore, PA
Founded1903
Scale$3.0B assets · $2.6B deposits, $2.0B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 11868

Financial detail is in What The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank

Is The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 11868, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank?

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Optimum Choice Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 0.35% apply to my whole balance?

The 0.35% needs a balance of at least $100. Below that, the account advertises 0.00%. Rates are as observed on Sep 16, 2026.

Does The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank have branches?

Yes. The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank operates 23 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank0.35%2.03%$10023 branches in PA
AVB Bank0.35%0.97%not stated4 branches in OK
Farmers National Bank0.85%1.10%not stated4 branches in IL
Farmers Trust and Savings Bank1.41%2.47%$1001 branch in IA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to The Fidelity Deposit and Discount Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates