Skip to main content

Putnam County Bank savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15243Assets $704M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Putnam County Bank advertises 0.10% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.28 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #852 of 1133 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #793.

Estimate your earnings·What Putnam County Bank actually pays

Key facts

Putnam County Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.10% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$10 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.28 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY1.50% · 48 months · 48 Month CD
Minimum to open$1,000 · 48 months CD
Against the national average0.23 percentage points above the 1.27% FDIC 48-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Putnam County Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate15243 · Hurricane, WV
Websitewww.pcbwv.bank
Branches5 branches in WV
AvailabilityAvailable in WV
Rates

Putnam County Bank savings and CD rates

Personal

0.10% APY
Passbook Savings
$10 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.10% APY
Christmas Club
Club Savings
$5 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
1.50% APY
Highest CD · 48 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

IRA

2.52% APY
Highest CD · term not stated
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Putnam County Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
not stated0.35%$1,00030 Day CD
not stated1.25%$1,000182 Day CD
not stated0.40%$1,00091 Day CD
12 months1.25%$1,00012 Month CD
18 months1.25%$1,00018 Month CD
24 months1.25%$1,00024 Month CD
36 months1.25%$1,00036 Month CD
48 months1.50%$1,00048 Month CD
IRA CDs
not stated2.52%$100Individual Retirement Account
not stated2.52%$100Simplified Employee Pension
not stated2.52%$100Coverdell Education Savings
not stated2.52%$100Roth IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Putnam County Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$37.30(0.3%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,037.30

Effective APY
0.10%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Putnam County Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.10%
Q2 2026 ·
0.10% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Putnam County Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 2% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.51%
Q2 2026 ·
$617M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
17.3%
Q2 2026
$704M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Putnam County Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Passbook Savings0.10%$10$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Christmas Club0.10%$5$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
30 Day CDnot stated0.35%$1,000not statednot stated
182 Day CDnot stated1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
91 Day CDnot stated0.40%$1,000not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months1.25%$1,000not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months1.50%$1,000not statednot stated
IRA CDs
Individual Retirement Accountnot stated2.52%$100not statednot stated
Simplified Employee Pensionnot stated2.52%$100not statednot stated
Coverdell Education Savingsnot stated2.52%$100not statednot stated
Roth IRAnot stated2.52%$100not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in WV
Footprint5 branches in WV
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Putnam County Bank behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.10% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
48 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.10% APY Putnam County Bank advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,010 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,685 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Putnam County Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Putnam County Bank?

HeadquartersHurricane, WV
Founded1901
Scale$704M assets · $617M deposits, $511M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15243

Financial detail is in What Putnam County Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Putnam County Bank

Is Putnam County Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Putnam County Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 15243, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Putnam County Bank?

Putnam County Bank requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Putnam County Bank have branches?

Yes. Putnam County Bank operates 5 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Putnam County Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Putnam County Bank0.10%0.10%$105 branches in WV
Alliance Bank1.00%1.33%not stated7 branches in IN
Andover State Bank0.55%2.23%not stated2 branches in KS
Bank of Lake Mills3.82%2.69%$50,0002 branches in WI

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Putnam County Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates