Skip to main content

Plains Commerce Bank CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 1678Assets $1.3B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 23, 2026

Plains Commerce Bank advertises 3.78% APY on its 7-month CD. That is 2.37 percentage points above the national 6-month CD average of 1.41% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

What Plains Commerce Bank actually pays

Key facts

Plains Commerce Bank at a glance

CDs
Top CD APY3.78% · 7 months · 7 Month CD Special
Minimum to open$10,000 · 7 months CD
Plains Commerce Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate1678 · Sioux Falls, SD
Websitewww.plainscommerce.com
Branches8 branches in SD
Rates

Plains Commerce Bank CD rates

3.78% APY
Highest CD · 7 months
$10,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 23, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Plains Commerce Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
5 months3.28%$10,0005 Month CD Special
7 months3.78%$10,0007 Month CD Special
11 months3.25%$10,00011 Month CD Special
13 months3.74%$10,00013 Month CD Special

What Plains Commerce Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

This section shows how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.26%
Q2 2026 ·

In Q2 2026, Plains Commerce Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 78% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

3.12%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.1B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
18.0%
Q2 2026
$1.3B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Plains Commerce Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

CDs

ProductTermAPY
5 Month CD Special5 months3.28%$10,000not statednot stated
7 Month CD Special7 months3.78%$10,000not statednot stated
11 Month CD Special11 months3.25%$10,000not statednot stated
13 Month CD Special13 months3.74%$10,000not statednot stated
Behavior

How Plains Commerce Bank behaves over time

Plains Commerce Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 1 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

7 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.

$10,000 at the 3.78% APY Plains Commerce Bank advertises on 7 Month CD Special grows to $10,378 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,037 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Plains Commerce Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Plains Commerce Bank?

HeadquartersSioux Falls, SD
Founded1931
Scale$1.3B assets · $1.1B deposits, $884M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 1678
Charter stateSouth Dakota · one of 56 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size848th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit growthHigher than at 63% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026 (FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Plains Commerce Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Plains Commerce Bank

Is Plains Commerce Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Plains Commerce Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 1678, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Does Plains Commerce Bank have branches?

Yes. Plains Commerce Bank operates 8 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Other banks chartered in South Dakota, nearest to Plains Commerce Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates