Skip to main content

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 15792Assets $84M (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County advertises 0.40% APY on its Passbook Savings account. That is 0.02 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #428 of 1006 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #343.

Estimate your earnings·What Peoples Bank of Moniteau County actually pays

Key facts

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.40% · Passbook Savings
Minimum to open$50 · Passbook Savings
Against the national average0.02 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.75% · 6 months · 182 Day CD or IRA
Minimum to open$500 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.34 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 1.00% · Money Market Deposit Account · needs at least $25,000.01
Minimum to open$1,000 · Money Market Deposit Account
Against the national average0.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Peoples Bank of Moniteau County bank facts
FDIC certificate15792 · Jamestown, MO
Websitewww.pbomc.com
Branches2 branches in MO
AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Rates

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County savings, CD and money market rates

Up to1.00% APY
Money Market Deposit Account
Needs at least $25,000.01
$1,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.45% APY on balances $1,000 - $10,000
0.50% APY on balances $10,000.01 - $25,000
1.00% APY on balances $25,000.01+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.65% APY
HSA Checking
Health Savings (HSA)
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.40% APY
Passbook Savings
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
3.75% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
3 months0.65%$50091 Day CD or IRA
6 months3.75%$500182 Day CD or IRA
12 months3.65%$50012 Month CD or IRA
15 months1.00%$50015 Month CD or IRA
18 months1.05%$50018 Month CD or IRA
24 months1.10%$50024 Month CD or IRA
30 months3.25%$50030 Month CD or IRA
36 months1.30%$50036 Month CD or IRA
48 months1.40%$50048 Month CD or IRA
60 months1.50%$50060 Month CD or IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Peoples Bank of Moniteau County

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$244.10(1.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$14,244.10

Effective APY
0.65%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Peoples Bank of Moniteau County pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.56%
Q1 2026 ·
0.40% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Peoples Bank of Moniteau County paid a higher average rate than 67% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$74M
Total deposits
Q1 2026
25.0%
Q1 2026
$84M
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Peoples Bank of Moniteau County, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
HSA Checking0.65%$0$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Passbook Savings0.40%$50$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Money Market Deposit Account1.00%$1,000$1,000Nonenot statednot statedTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
91 Day CD or IRA3 months0.65%$500not statednot stated
182 Day CD or IRA6 months3.75%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD or IRA12 months3.65%$500not statednot stated
15 Month CD or IRA15 months1.00%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD or IRA18 months1.05%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD or IRA24 months1.10%$500not statednot stated
30 Month CD or IRA30 months3.25%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD or IRA36 months1.30%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD or IRA48 months1.40%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD or IRA60 months1.50%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in MO
Footprint2 branches in MO
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Peoples Bank of Moniteau County behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Passbook Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.40% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Passbook Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Money Market Deposit Account
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 23, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.40% APY Peoples Bank of Moniteau County advertises on Passbook Savings grows to $10,040 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,714 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Peoples Bank of Moniteau County?

HeadquartersJamestown, MO
Founded1941
Scale$84M assets · $74M deposits, $56M of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 15792

Financial detail is in What Peoples Bank of Moniteau County pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Peoples Bank of Moniteau County

Is Peoples Bank of Moniteau County FDIC insured?

Yes. Peoples Bank of Moniteau County is FDIC insured under certificate 15792, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Peoples Bank of Moniteau County?

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County requires a minimum deposit of $50 to open its Passbook Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Peoples Bank of Moniteau County have branches?

Yes. Peoples Bank of Moniteau County operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Peoples Bank of Moniteau County against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Peoples Bank of Moniteau County1.00%2.56%$1,0002 branches in MO
Charter Bank1.90%2.42%$25,0004 branches in IA
First United Bank1.70%2.65%$50,00025 branches in TX
The Citizens-Farmers Bank of Cole Camp1.51%2.71%$1002 branches in MO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Peoples Bank of Moniteau County's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates