Skip to main content

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 5847Assets $120M (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 9, 2026

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington advertises 0.02% APY on its Statement Savings account. That is 0.36 percentage points below the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #1136 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #1088.

Estimate your earnings·What Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington actually pays

Key facts

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY0.02% · Statement Savings
Minimum to open$100 · Statement Savings
Against the national average0.36 percentage points below the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY0.35% · 60 months · 60 Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 60 months CD
Against the national average1.01 percentage points below the 1.36% FDIC 60-month CD average (Aug 2026)
Money market
Top money market APYUp to 0.06% · Peoples Money Market · needs at least $75,000
Minimum to open$2,500 · Peoples Money Market
Against the national average0.57 percentage points below the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington bank facts
FDIC certificate5847 · Mount Washington, KY
Websitewww.peoplesbankmtw.com
Branches2 branches in KY
AvailabilityAvailable in KY
Rates

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

Up to0.06% APY
Peoples Money Market
Needs at least $75,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.04% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
0.06% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.02% APY
Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026
0.35% APY
Highest CD · 60 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Business

Up to0.06% APY
Business Money Market
Needs at least $75,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.02% APY on balances $0 - $24,999.99
0.04% APY on balances $25,000 - $74,999.99
0.06% APY on balances $75,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 9, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months0.10%$500182 Day CD
12 months0.15%$50012 Month CD
18 months0.20%$50018 Month CD
24 months0.20%$50024 Month CD
36 months0.25%$50036 Month CD
48 months0.30%$50048 Month CD
60 months0.35%$50060 Month CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.02% ($0 - $24,999.99), 0.04% ($25,000 - $74,999.99), 0.06% ($75,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$9.00(0.1%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $2,500

Projected Balance

$15,509.00

Effective APY
0.02%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.06%
Q2 2026 ·
0.02% APY
As observed Sep 9, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 1% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.06%
Q2 2026 ·
$110M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
39.4%
Q2 2026
$120M
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

How these figures are computed

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Statement Savings0.02%$100$0NoneOnly $1/month if your balance falls below $100.NoneOne rate
Peoples Money Market0.06%$2,500$0None$12 maintenance fee applies to balances below $2,500NoneTiered
Business
Business Money Market0.06%$2,500$0None$12 Maintenance fee if balance falls below minimumNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
182 Day CD6 months0.10%$500not statednot stated
12 Month CD12 months0.15%$500not statednot stated
18 Month CD18 months0.20%$500not statednot stated
24 Month CD24 months0.20%$500not statednot stated
36 Month CD36 months0.25%$500not statednot stated
48 Month CD48 months0.30%$500not statednot stated
60 Month CD60 months0.35%$500not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in KY
Footprint2 branches in KY
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Statement Savings rate in the last 12 months was 0.02% (observed through Sep 9, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Statement Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
60 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Peoples Money Market
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Aug 25, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 0.02% APY Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington advertises on Statement Savings grows to $10,002 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,677 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington?

HeadquartersMount Washington, KY
Founded1909
Scale$120M assets · $110M deposits, $66M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 5847

Financial detail is in What Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington

Is Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington FDIC insured?

Yes. Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington is FDIC insured under certificate 5847, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington?

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Statement Savings account, as observed on Sep 9, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington have branches?

Yes. Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington operates 2 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington0.06%0.06%$2,5002 branches in KY
Arrow Bank National Association0.05%2.21%$2,50057 branches in NY
Bankesb0.30%1.34%$1,00056 branches in CT, MA, NH
Bankhometown0.30%1.06%$1,00015 branches in CT, MA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Peoples Bank, Mt. Washington's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. How these figures are computed. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates