Skip to main content

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 28599Assets $1.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 16, 2026

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association advertises 2.57% APY on its Companion Savings account. That is 2.20 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026).

A checking account at the bank is required.

Ranked #277 of 1929 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #175.

Estimate your earnings·What Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association actually pays

Key facts

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY2.57% · Companion Savings · checking account required
Minimum to open$100 · Companion Savings
Against the national average2.20 percentage points above the 0.37% FDIC savings average (Sep 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.82% · 8 months · 8 Mo. Outreach CD
Minimum to open$2,500 · 8 months CD
Money market
Top money market APY2.83% · Premium Personal Money Market Account (MMA) · needs at least $1,000,000
Minimum to open$50,000 · Premium Personal Money Market Account (MMA)
Against the national average2.20 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Sep 2026)
Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association bank facts
FDIC certificate28599 · Olympia, WA
Websitewww.olyfed.com
Branches9 branches in WA
AvailabilityAvailable in WA
Rates

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

2.83% APY
Premium Personal Money Market Account (MMA)
Needs at least $1,000,000
$50,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $50 - $49,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.51% APY on balances $100,000 - $149,999.99
0.87% APY on balances $150,000 - $199,999.99
1.12% APY on balances $200,000 - $249,999.99
1.38% APY on balances $250,000 - $499,999.99
2.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
2.83% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
2.57% APY
Companion Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.51% APY
Personal Money Market Account (MMA)
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $50 - $2,499.99
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999.99
0.51% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.15% APY
Super Saver
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
HSA
Health Savings (HSA)
$1 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
3.82% APY
Highest CD · 8 months
$2,500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

IRA

3.19% APY
Highest CD · 12 months
$50 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Business

3.09% APY
Business Premium Money Market Account
Needs at least $1,000,000
$50,000 minimum

How the rate applies

0.10% APY on balances $50 - $49,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.51% APY on balances $100,000 - $299,999.99
1.64% APY on balances $300,000 - $499,999.99
2.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.09% APY on balances $1,000,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
2.57% APY
Companion Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
Up to0.51% APY
Business Money Market Account (MMA)
Needs at least $100,000
$2,500 minimum

How the rate applies

0.05% APY on balances $50 - $2,499.99
0.10% APY on balances $2,500 - $9,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $10,000 - $99,999.99
0.51% APY on balances $100,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026
0.05% APY
Statement Savings
$100 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 16, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months2.75%$2,50091 Day CD
6 months3.04%$2,5006 Mo. CD
8 months3.82%$2,5008 Mo. Outreach CD
12 months3.04%$10012 Mo. CD
15 months1.31%$10015 Mo. Add-On CD
18 months1.21%$10018 Mo. Add-on Bump Rate CD
18 months2.90%$10018 Mo. CD
24 months1.21%$10024 Mo. Add-On CD
24 months2.60%$10024 Mo. CD
30 months2.40%$10030 Mo. CD
36 months2.30%$10036 Mo. CD
48 months2.25%$5048 Mo. Dream Saver CD
48 months1.21%$10048 Mo. Add-On CD
48 months2.30%$10048 Mo. CD
48 months2.35%$5048 Mo. Dream Builder CD
60 months0.90%$10060 Mo. Bump Rate CD
60 months2.50%$10060 Mo. CD
72 months2.50%$10072 Mo. CD
120 months1.50%$100120 Mo. CD
IRA CDs
12 months3.19%$5012 Mo. IRA
18 months3.00%$5018 Mo. IRA
24 months2.70%$5024 Mo. IRA
36 months2.40%$5036 Mo. IRA
48 months2.40%$5048 Mo. IRA
60 months2.60%$5060 Mo. IRA
72 months2.60%$5072 Mo. IRA
120 months1.60%$50120 Mo. IRA

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association

All calculations are based on APY.

$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 0.10% to 3.09% APY across 6 balance tiers.
0.10% APY on balances $50 - $49,999.99
0.15% APY on balances $50,000 - $99,999.99
0.51% APY on balances $100,000 - $299,999.99
1.64% APY on balances $300,000 - $499,999.99
2.15% APY on balances $500,000 - $999,999.99
3.09% APY on balances $1,000,000+

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$424.60(0.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $50,000

Projected Balance

$63,424.60

Effective APY
0.15%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

0.87%
Q2 2026 ·
2.57% APY
As observed Sep 16, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q2 2026, Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 28% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.92%
Q2 2026 ·
$710M
Total deposits
Q2 2026
10.4%
Q2 2026
$1.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Personal
Companion Savings2.57%$100$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Super Saver0.15%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
HSA0.05%$1$0Nonenot statednot statedOne rate
Statement Savings0.05%$100$0None$3 quarterly service charge will be imposed if average daily balance falls below $100.not statedOne rate
Premium Personal Money Market Account (MMA)2.83%$50,000$50Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Personal Money Market Account (MMA)0.51%$2,500$50Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Business
Business Premium Money Market Account3.09%$50,000$50Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Companion Savings2.57%$100$0Nonenot statedChecking account · direct deposit not statedOne rate
Business Money Market Account (MMA)0.51%$2,500$50Nonenot statednot statedTiered
Statement Savings0.05%$100$0None$3 quarterly service charge will be imposed if average daily balance falls below $100.not statedOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
91 Day CD3 months2.75%$2,500not statednot stated
6 Mo. CD6 months3.04%$2,500not statednot stated
8 Mo. Outreach CD8 months3.82%$2,500not statednot stated
12 Mo. CD12 months3.04%$100not statednot stated
15 Mo. Add-On CD15 months1.31%$100not statednot stated
18 Mo. Add-on Bump Rate CD18 months1.21%$100not statednot stated
18 Mo. CD18 months2.90%$100not statednot stated
24 Mo. Add-On CD24 months1.21%$100not statednot stated
24 Mo. CD24 months2.60%$100not statednot stated
30 Mo. CD30 months2.40%$100not statednot stated
36 Mo. CD36 months2.30%$100not statednot stated
48 Mo. Dream Saver CD48 months2.25%$50not statednot stated
48 Mo. Add-On CD48 months1.21%$100not statednot stated
48 Mo. CD48 months2.30%$100not statednot stated
48 Mo. Dream Builder CD48 months2.35%$50not statednot stated
60 Mo. Bump Rate CD60 months0.90%$100not statednot stated
60 Mo. CD60 months2.50%$100not statednot stated
72 Mo. CD72 months2.50%$100not statednot stated
120 Mo. CD120 months1.50%$100not statednot stated
IRA CDs
12 Mo. IRA12 months3.19%$50not statednot stated
18 Mo. IRA18 months3.00%$50not statednot stated
24 Mo. IRA24 months2.70%$50not statednot stated
36 Mo. IRA36 months2.40%$50not statednot stated
48 Mo. IRA48 months2.40%$50not statednot stated
60 Mo. IRA60 months2.60%$50not statednot stated
72 Mo. IRA72 months2.60%$50not statednot stated
120 Mo. IRA120 months1.60%$50not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityAvailable in WA
Footprint9 branches in WA
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association behaves over time

Every observation of the advertised Companion Savings rate in the last 12 months was 2.57% (observed through Sep 16, 2026). The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Companion Savings
The same as 7 days ago.
8 months CD
The same as 7 days ago.
Premium Personal Money Market Account (MMA)
The same as 7 days ago.
Rate last changed
Sep 3, 2026(effective date)

$10,000 at the 2.57% APY Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association advertises on Companion Savings grows to $10,257 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $9,920 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association?

HeadquartersOlympia, WA
Founded1906
Scale$1.0B assets · $710M deposits, $636M of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 28599

Financial detail is in What Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association

Is Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association FDIC insured?

Yes. Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association is FDIC insured under certificate 28599, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association?

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association requires a minimum deposit of $100 to open its Companion Savings account, as observed on Sep 16, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association have branches?

Yes. Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association operates 9 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association3.09%0.87%$50,0009 branches in WA
ConnectOne Bank3.10%2.79%$2,50057 branches in FL, NJ, NY
The MINT National Bank3.10%2.54%$1,0001 branch in TX
Esquire Bank, National Association3.05%2.96%$06 branches in CA, IL, NY

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Olympia Federal Savings and Loan Association's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates