Skip to main content

Chime vs Peak Bank

The two banks compared as banks: the charter, branches, checking, the other products they sell, their apps and their deposit rates. Each fact has its source and the date it was confirmed.

By Aviel FahlNewest rate reading Sep 26, 2026Savings and CD rates only
In short

Choose Chime or Peak Bank

Choose Chime if

  • You want a checking account from the same bank. Peak Bank does not offer one.
  • You want a credit card from the same bank. Peak Bank does not offer one.
  • You want an investment account from the same bank. Peak Bank does not offer one.

Choose Peak Bank if

  • You want CDs. Banksparency tracks no CD at Chime.
  • The savings rate matters most. Peak Bank advertises the higher savings APY.
Side by side

Chime and Peak Bank compared

FieldChimePeak Bank
What each bank sells
Savings accountYesBanksparency rate dataYesBanksparency rate data
CDsNone trackedBanksparency rate dataYesBanksparency rate data
Money market accountNone trackedBanksparency rate dataNone trackedBanksparency rate data
Checking accountYesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No, Idaho First Bank sells checking accounts under its own nameBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Credit cardsYesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No, Idaho First Bank sells credit cards under its own nameBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Personal loansSmall loans only ($100 to $2,000, for select members)Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026Not statedBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
MortgagesNoBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No, Idaho First Bank sells mortgages under its own nameBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
InvestingYesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026NoBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Deposit rates
Best savings APY3.75% APYAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 20264.01% APYAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 2026
Best CD APYNone listed3.69% APY, 12 monthsAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 2026
Checking
Account comparedChime Checking AccountBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
Monthly feeNoneBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
How to avoid the feeNo fee to avoidBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
Overdraft feeNoneBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
ZelleNoBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026Not statedBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Branches and ATMs
BranchesNo branches (online only)Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No branches (online only)Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Fee-free ATMsMoneyPass (in 7-Eleven), Allpoint and Visa Plus Alliance, 47,000+Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
Other banks' ATM feesNot statedBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026No checking account
Apps
App Store rating4.8 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 20264.8 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
Google Play rating4.7 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 20264.6 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026
The bank behind it
CharterNot a bank. Deposits are held at The Bancorp Bank, N.A.; Stride Bank, N.A.Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026Idaho · the charter, Idaho First Bank, is one of 10 insured banks chartered thereFDIC call report, Q2 2026
SizeNo FDIC filingNot shown: the figure describes the charter, Idaho First Bank
Deposit growthNo FDIC filingNot shown: the figure describes the charter, Idaho First Bank

“Not stated” means the bank’s own pages say nothing that answers the question. “Not confirmed yet” means no one has confirmed the fact against its source.

Tracked here

How each bank has moved its rates

Banksparency reads each bank’s rates every day. A bank that cuts often, or lets a promotion lapse to a lower rate, costs more over a year than its rate today shows.

Chime

  • Chime High-Yield Savings Account: one rate change since Jan 21, 2026, 1 raise.The last was on Apr 30, 2026, up 0.75 points.

Peak Bank

  • Envision High Yield Savings: 3 rate changes since Jan 21, 2026, 1 cut and 2 raises.The last was on Jun 3, 2026, up 0.19 points.
  • 12-month CD, the highest CD rate: one rate change since Jan 21, 2026, 1 raise.The last was on Apr 1, 2026, up 0.18 points.

What each bank pays on deposits

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

Chime

Chime is not a bank and files no call report. Its deposits are held at partner banks.

Each figure is that bank's own charter-level average across its whole deposit book, so the two are shown one after the other and are not a ranking.

Peak Bank

3.46%
Q2 2026 ·
4.01% APY
As observed Sep 26, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 4.01% applies to balances up to $499,999.99. A larger balance earns 3.14% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, Idaho First Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 98% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

3.41%
Q2 2026 ·
$1.2B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
20.3%
Q2 2026

What Peak Bank actually pays

How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Read more

More on these two banks

Other pairs

More whole-bank comparisons

All 23 whole-bank comparisons