Chase Bank vs SoFi Bank
The two banks compared as banks: the charter, branches, checking, the other products they sell, their apps and their deposit rates. Each fact has its source and the date it was confirmed.
Choose Chase Bank or SoFi Bank
Choose Chase Bank if
- You want CDs. Banksparency tracks no CD at SoFi Bank.
- The app matters to you. Chase Bank rates 4.8 on Google Play and SoFi Bank rates 3.7.
Choose SoFi Bank if
- You want a personal loan from the same bank. Chase Bank does not offer one.
- You use ATMs often. SoFi Bank lists 55,000+ fee-free ATMs and Chase Bank lists 14,000+.
- You want no overdraft fee.
- You want checking with no monthly fee.
- The savings rate matters most. SoFi Bank advertises the higher savings APY.
- You want a sign-up bonus. SoFi Bank has one on offer now: Up to $400 bonus.
Chase Bank and SoFi Bank compared
| Field | Chase Bank | SoFi Bank |
|---|---|---|
| What each bank sells | ||
| Savings account | YesBanksparency rate data | YesBanksparency rate data |
| CDs | YesBanksparency rate data | None trackedBanksparency rate data |
| Money market account | None trackedBanksparency rate data | None trackedBanksparency rate data |
| Checking account | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Credit cards | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Personal loans | No, My Chase Loan lends only against a Chase credit card lineBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Mortgages | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Investing | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Deposit rates | ||
| Best savings APY | 0.01% APYAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 2026 | Up to 4.20% APYAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 2026 |
| Best CD APY | 4.00% APY, 7 monthsAdvertised, newest reading Sep 26, 2026 | None listed |
| Sign-up bonus | None on record | Up to $400 bonusBank offer, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Checking | ||
| Account compared | Chase Total CheckingBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | SoFi Checking and SavingsBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Monthly fee | $15Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | NoneBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| How to avoid the fee | One of: $500+ in qualifying electronic deposits; $1,500+ balance at the beginning of each day; $5,000+ average beginning day balance in this account or with linked qualifying deposits or investments; link to a qualifying checking accountBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | No fee to avoidBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Overdraft fee | $34 per transaction when the account is overdrawn by more than $50, at most 3 a dayBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | NoneBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Zelle | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | YesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Branches and ATMs | ||
| Branches | Has branchesBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | SoFi accounts are online only. Its Golden Pacific Bank division has 3 branches in California for its own customers.Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Fee-free ATMs | Own ATMs, 14,000+Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | Allpoint, 55,000+Bank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Other banks' ATM fees | Not statedBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | No refundBank site, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Apps | ||
| App Store rating | 4.8 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | 4.7 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| Google Play rating | 4.8 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 | 3.7 of 5Store listing, confirmed Sep 27, 2026 |
| The bank behind it | ||
| Charter | Ohio · the charter, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association, is one of 157 insured banks chartered thereFDIC call report, Q2 2026 | Utah · one of 44 insured banks chartered thereFDIC call report, Q2 2026 |
| Size | Not shown: the figure describes the charter, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | 46th-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banksFDIC call report, Q2 2026 |
| Deposit growth | Not shown: the figure describes the charter, JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association | Higher than at 99% of 4,226 insured banks over the four quarters to Q2 2026FDIC call report |
“Not stated” means the bank’s own pages say nothing that answers the question. “Not confirmed yet” means no one has confirmed the fact against its source.
How each bank has moved its rates
Banksparency reads each bank’s rates every day. A bank that cuts often, or lets a promotion lapse to a lower rate, costs more over a year than its rate today shows.
Chase Bank
- Chase Savings℠: no rate change since Jan 21, 2026.
- 7-month CD, the highest CD rate: 4 rate changes since Jan 21, 2026, 2 cuts and 2 raises.The last was on Sep 11, 2026, down 0.50 points.
SoFi Bank
- SoFi Savings: 3 rate changes since Jan 21, 2026, 2 cuts and 1 raise.The last was on Sep 23, 2026, up 0.20 points.Its 4.20% APY is a promotion for 180 days. After that the rate falls to 3.30%.
What each bank pays on deposits
An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.
Chase Bank
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.
In Q2 2026, JPMorgan Chase Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 27% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
Each figure is that bank's own charter-level average across its whole deposit book, so the two are shown one after the other and are not a ranking.
SoFi Bank
The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. That 4.20% is a promotional rate for six months. The account advertises 3.30% after it ends. 6-month 0.90% APY Boost on top of the standard 3.10% rate; requires Eligible Direct Deposit or $5,000+ qualifying deposits per 31 days. Without qualifying activity the account earns 0.80%.
In Q2 2026, SoFi Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 96% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.
How to read these figures
What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.
The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.
What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.
Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.
What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.
What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.
What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.
Definitions: Call Report · Rate Paid on Deposits · Interest-Bearing Deposits · Front Book and Back Book · Deposit Rate Percentile
Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The percentile compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.
More on these two banks
More whole-bank comparisons
Chase Bank compared with other banks:
SoFi Bank compared with other banks: