Skip to main content

RBMAX savings and CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 23627Assets $7.1B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 14, 2026

RBMAX advertises 3.40% APY on its Max Interest Savings account. The 3.40% applies to balances up to $249,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.20% on the whole amount.

That is 3.02 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #130 of 1174 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #91. It was #78 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 33 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What RBMAX actually pays

Key facts

RBMAX at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.40% · Max Interest Savings · up to $249,999.99 only
Minimum to open$10 · Max Interest Savings
Against the national average3.02 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY3.70% · 6 months · 6-Month Available CDs
Minimum to open$1,000 · 6 months CD
Against the national average2.29 percentage points above the 1.41% FDIC 6-month CD average (Aug 2026)
RBMAX bank facts
FDIC certificate23627 · Louisville, KY
Websitewww.rbmax.net
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

RBMAX savings and CD rates

3.40% APY
Max Interest Savings
On balances up to $249,999.99 · 0.20% above
$10 minimum

How the rate applies

3.40% APY on balances $0 - $249,999.99
0.20% APY on balances $250,000+
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026
3.70% APY
Highest CD · 6 months
$1,000 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 14, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 60 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.50%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

RBMAX CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
6 months3.70%$1,0006-Month Available CDs
11 months3.50%$1,00011-Month Available CDs
12 months3.10%$1,00012-Month Available CDs
60 months3.50%$1,00060-Month Available CDs

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for RBMAX

All calculations are based on APY.

Max Interest Savings0.20% - 3.40% APY
$
$
Frequency
Tiered rates: 3.40% ($0 - $249,999.99), 0.20% ($250,000+)

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,322.70(8.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,322.70

Effective APY
3.40%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What RBMAX pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.14%
Q2 2026 ·
3.40% APY
As observed Sep 14, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined. The 3.40% applies to balances up to $249,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.20% on the whole amount.

In Q2 2026, Republic Bank&Trust Company paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 75% of banks that reported a figure (3,938 banks; FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

1.80%
Q2 2026 ·
$5.6B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
23.7%
Q2 2026
$7.1B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Republic Bank&Trust Company, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older savings balances at the rates of earlier years, money market balances that were priced in a different rate environment, and business accounts. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the 3,938 banks that reported a figure for the quarter ending June 30, 2026.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Max Interest Savings3.40%$10$0$249,999.99$0 with electronic statementsNoneTiered

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
6-Month Available CDs6 months3.70%$1,000not statednot stated
11-Month Available CDs11 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
12-Month Available CDs12 months3.10%$1,000not statednot stated
60-Month Available CDs60 months3.50%$1,000not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
App Store rating4.8 out of 5
Google Play rating4.2 out of 5
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How RBMAX behaves over time

12-month high
4.15%
12-month low
3.40%
Advertised now
3.40%
0.75 percentage points below the 12-month high

The advertised Max Interest Savings rate, observed through Sep 14, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

RBMAX has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 33 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Max Interest Savings
The same as 90 days ago.
6 months CD
The same as 90 days ago.
Rate last changed
Feb 14, 2026(effective date)

At the top advertised rates we observed for RBMAX's Max Interest Savings, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,352 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). So it buys as much as $10,015 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • Max Interest Savings APY
  • Banksparency savings index
  • Consumer price index, year over year
  • Fed rate cut
RBMAX Max Interest Savings advertised APY, as observed, Sep 2025 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index. Shaded bands mark Federal Reserve rate cuts.

RBMAX CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is RBMAX?

HeadquartersLouisville, KY
Founded1981
Scale$7.1B assets · $5.6B deposits, $4.3B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 23627
BBB ratingA+ · BBB Accredited
AffiliationRBMAX is a division of Republic Bank & Trust Company

Financial detail is in What RBMAX pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about RBMAX

Is RBMAX FDIC insured?

Yes. RBMAX is FDIC insured under certificate 23627, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at RBMAX?

RBMAX requires a minimum deposit of $10 to open its Max Interest Savings account, as observed on Sep 14, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does the 3.40% apply to my whole balance?

The 3.40% applies to balances up to $249,999.99. A larger balance earns 0.20% on the whole amount. Rates are as observed on Sep 14, 2026.

Compare

RBMAX against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q2 2026)Min depositBranches
RBMAX3.40%2.14%$10not stated
Marcus by Goldman Sachs3.40%3.60%$05 branches in MA, NJ, NY, UT
SmartyPig3.40%3.75%$0not stated
Customers Bank3.38%3.36%$25,0007 branches in NJ, NY, PA

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to RBMAX's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates