Skip to main content

Western Alliance Bank savings rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 57512Assets $98.8B (Q1 2026)Newest reading Sep 3, 2026

Western Alliance Bank advertises 3.80% APY on its High-Yield Savings Premier account. That is 3.42 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #43 of 337 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #32. It was #45 three months ago. The advertised rate has not changed in the 31 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

Estimate your earnings·What Western Alliance Bank actually pays

Key facts

Western Alliance Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.80% · High-Yield Savings Premier
Minimum to open$500 · High-Yield Savings Premier
Against the national average3.42 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
Western Alliance Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate57512 · Phoenix, AZ
Websitewww.westernalliancebancorporation.com
Branches38 branches across 6 states
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

Western Alliance Bank savings rates

3.80% APY
High-Yield Savings Premier
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Western Alliance Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

High-Yield Savings Premier3.80% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,485.90(9.6%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,485.90

Effective APY
3.80%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Western Alliance Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.68%
Q1 2026 ·
3.80% APY
As observed Sep 3, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Western Alliance Bank paid a higher average rate than 73% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$83.2B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
33.7%
Q1 2026
$98.8B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Western Alliance Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
High-Yield Savings Premier3.80%$500$0None$0NoneOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
Footprint38 branches across 6 states
App Store rating1.4 out of 5
Google Play rating2.3 out of 5
ZelleAvailable
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Western Alliance Bank behaves over time

12-month high
4.25%
12-month low
3.80%
Advertised now
3.80%
0.45 percentage points below the 12-month high

The advertised High-Yield Savings Premier rate, observed through Sep 3, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Western Alliance Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 31 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it.

High-Yield Savings Premier
The same as 90 days ago.
Rate last changed
Jan 21, 2026(effective date)

At the top advertised rates we observed for Western Alliance Bank's High-Yield Savings Premier, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,388 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). So it buys as much as $10,050 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • High-Yield Savings Premier APY
  • Banksparency savings index
  • Consumer price index, year over year
  • Fed rate cut
Western Alliance Bank High-Yield Savings Premier advertised APY, as observed, Sep 2025 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index. Shaded bands mark Federal Reserve rate cuts.
Identity

Who is Western Alliance Bank?

HeadquartersPhoenix, AZ
Founded1994
Scale$98.8B assets · $83.2B deposits, $55.1B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 57512
BBB ratingA- · Not BBB Accredited (Information provided is for Alliance Association Bank, a trade name of Western Alliance Bank)
AffiliationWestern Alliance Bank is a wholly owned subsidiary of Western Alliance Bancorporation (NYSE:WAL)

Financial detail is in What Western Alliance Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Western Alliance Bank

Is Western Alliance Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Western Alliance Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 57512, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Western Alliance Bank?

Western Alliance Bank requires a minimum deposit of $500 to open its High-Yield Savings Premier account, as observed on Sep 3, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Western Alliance Bank have branches?

Yes. Western Alliance Bank operates 38 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Western Alliance Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Western Alliance Bank3.80%2.68%$50038 branches across 6 states
Openbank3.80%2.65%$500not stated
SoFi Bank3.80%2.83%$04 branches in CA, UT
High Plains Bank3.82%2.71%$259 branches in CO

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Western Alliance Bank's.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates