Skip to main content

Ally Bank savings, CD and money market rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 57803Assets $185.7B (Q1 2026)Rate change observed Aug 7, 2026Newest reading Sep 3, 2026

Ally Bank advertises 3.00% APY on its Savings Account. That is 2.62 percentage points above the national savings average of 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026).

Ranked #106 of 337 tracked savings rates by advertised APY. For a $10,000 balance it would rank #77. It was #92 three months ago. The bank has cut this rate 3 times in the last 12 months.

Estimate your earnings·What Ally Bank actually pays

Key facts

Ally Bank at a glance

Savings
Top savings APY3.00% · Savings Account
Minimum to open$0 · Savings Account
Against the national average2.62 percentage points above the 0.38% FDIC savings average (Aug 2026)
CDs
Top CD APY4.00% · 18 months · 18 Mo CD
Minimum to open$0 · 18 months CD
Money market
Top money market APY3.00% · Money Market Account
Minimum to open$0 · Money Market Account
Against the national average2.37 percentage points above the 0.63% FDIC money market average (Aug 2026)
Ally Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate57803 · Sandy, UT
Websitewww.ally.com
Branches1 branch in UT
AvailabilityNationally available
Rates

Ally Bank savings, CD and money market rates

Personal

3.00% APY
Savings Account
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026
3.00% APY
Money Market Account
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026
4.00% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026

IRA

4.00% APY
Highest CD · 18 months
No minimum deposit
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 3, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.38% (FDIC, Aug 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.00%. Across 57 savings accounts from 55 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.52%, and one account in ten advertises 4.01% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Ally Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
Personal CDs
3 months2.70%$03 Mo CD
6 months3.50%$06 Mo CD
9 months3.75%$09 Mo CD
11 months2.70%$0No-Penalty CD (11 Mo)
12 months3.90%$012 Mo CD
18 months4.00%$018 Mo CD
36 months3.50%$03 Yr CD
60 months3.50%$05 Yr CD
IRA CDs
3 months2.70%$03 Mo IRA CD
6 months3.50%$06 Mo IRA CD
9 months3.75%$09 Mo IRA CD
12 months3.90%$012 Mo IRA CD
18 months4.00%$018 Mo IRA CD
36 months3.50%$03 Yr IRA CD
60 months3.50%$05 Yr IRA CD

Interactive Tool

Calculate Savings for Ally Bank

All calculations are based on APY.

Savings Account3.00% APY
$
$
Frequency

Savings Breakdown

  • Interest Earned
    +$1,161.10(7.7%)
  • Total Contributions
    $13,000
  • Initial Deposit
    $1,000

Projected Balance

$15,161.10

Effective APY
3.00%

The Banksparency Savings Calculator provides estimated savings growth based on user input and our latest data.

What Ally Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

An advertised rate tells you what a new savings account earns today. It cannot tell you how the bank has priced all of its deposits over time. This section shows that. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

3.19%
Q1 2026 ·
3.00% APY
As observed Sep 3, 2026

The two figures answer different questions, so they sit side by side and are not combined.

In Q1 2026, Ally Bank paid a higher average rate than 90% of U.S. banks (all-bank median 2.27%).

$156.2B
Total deposits
Q1 2026
0.1%
Q1 2026
$185.7B
Total assets
Q1 2026
  • Ally Bank, avg rate paid
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly, Q3 2024Q1 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers every account that earns interest: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, and personal and business accounts at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years.

What the advertised rate covers. It is the rate that this bank advertises now for a new savings account. Banksparency records it from the bank's website on the date shown beside it.

Why the two differ. They measure different things, so this page shows them side by side and keeps them apart. An advertised rate applies to one account, opened now, at today's price. The average also includes older balances at the rates of earlier years, everyday transaction balances, and CDs that were priced in a different rate environment. An average below an advertised rate is the usual result of that arithmetic. On its own it is not evidence about the account that you would open.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rate paid on interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

ProductAPYBalance capMonthly feeRequirementsRate type12-mo trend
Savings Account3.00%$0$0None$0NoneOne rate
Money Market Account3.00%$0$0Nonenot statedNoneOne rate

Rate type: one rate applies at every balance. A tiered rate changes with your balance. A promotional rate changes after the period shown. A balance cap is the largest balance the highest rate applies to.

The 12-month trend shows the highest advertised rate observed each day and includes promotional tiers where one applied.

CDs

ProductTermAPY
Personal CDs
3 Mo CD3 months2.70%$0not statednot stated
6 Mo CD6 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
9 Mo CD9 months3.75%$0not statednot stated
No-Penalty CD (11 Mo)11 months2.70%$0not statednot stated
12 Mo CD12 months3.90%$0not statednot stated
18 Mo CD18 months4.00%$0not statednot stated
3 Yr CD36 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
5 Yr CD60 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
IRA CDs
3 Mo IRA CD3 months2.70%$0not statednot stated
6 Mo IRA CD6 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
9 Mo IRA CD9 months3.75%$0not statednot stated
12 Mo IRA CD12 months3.90%$0not statednot stated
18 Mo IRA CD18 months4.00%$0not statednot stated
3 Yr IRA CD36 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
5 Yr IRA CD60 months3.50%$0not statednot stated
Practicalities

Opening and using the account

AvailabilityNationally available
Footprint1 branch in UT
App Store rating4.7 out of 5
Google Play rating4.4 out of 5
ZelleAvailable, daily limit $5,000
Eligibilitynot stated
Behavior

How Ally Bank behaves over time

12-month high
3.50%
12-month low
3.00%
Advertised now
3.00%
0.50 percentage points below the 12-month high
Observed cuts, 12 months
3
In a window with 3 Federal Reserve cuts

The advertised Savings Account rate, observed through Sep 3, 2026. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied.

Recent rate changes, as observed

  • Obs. Aug 7, 20266 Mo CDRaise:3.30%to3.50%
  • Obs. Aug 7, 202612 Mo CDRaise:3.70%to3.90%
  • Obs. Aug 7, 202618 Mo CDRaise:3.80%to4.00%
  • Obs. Aug 7, 20265 Yr CDRaise:3.40%to3.50%
  • Obs. Jul 20, 20269 Mo CDRaise:3.30%to3.75%
Savings Account
The same as 90 days ago.
18 months CD
Up 0.20 percentage points from 30 days ago.
Money Market Account
The same as 90 days ago.

At the top advertised rates we observed for Ally Bank's Savings Account, $10,000 would have grown to about $10,320 over the past year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to July 2026 (). So it buys as much as $9,985 did a year ago. The series includes promotional tiers where one applied. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

  • Savings Account APY
  • Banksparency savings index
  • Consumer price index, year over year
  • Fed rate cut
Ally Bank Savings Account advertised APY, as observed, Sep 2025 Sep 2026, against the banksparency savings index. Shaded bands mark Federal Reserve rate cuts.

Ally Bank CD rates over time

Identity

Who is Ally Bank?

HeadquartersSandy, UT
Founded2004
Scale$185.7B assets · $156.2B deposits, $156.0B of it interest-bearing (Q1 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 57803
BBB ratingA+ · Not BBB Accredited

Financial detail is in What Ally Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Ally Bank

Is Ally Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Ally Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 57803, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

What is the minimum deposit at Ally Bank?

Ally Bank requires no minimum deposit to open its Savings Account, as observed on Sep 3, 2026. Check the bank's current terms before you open an account.

Does Ally Bank have branches?

Yes. Ally Bank operates 1 branch according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Compare

Ally Bank against its closest alternatives

BankSavings APY (Q1 2026)Min depositBranches
Ally Bank3.00%3.19%$01 branch in UT
American Express3.00%3.39%$01 branch in UT
BMO Alto3.00%2.26%$0not stated
Bonanza Valley State Bank3.00%2.32%not stated1 branch in MN

Alternatives are the three tracked banks whose highest savings APY is closest to Ally Bank's.

Compare Ally Bank with another bank

Each link opens a full comparison page, with the two banks side by side and their current savings rates.

Explore

Similar banks and rate hubs

Banks in the same rate band with the same product mix:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, CD rates by term, and money market rates.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates