Skip to main content

Santander Bank CD rates

By Aviel FahlFDIC insured · Cert 29950Assets $104.0B (Q2 2026)Newest reading Sep 26, 2026
Key facts

Santander Bank at a glance

CDs
Top CD APY3.85% · 10 months · 10-Month CD
Minimum to open$500 · 10 months CD
Santander Bank bank facts
FDIC certificate29950 · Wilmington, DE
Websitewww.santanderbank.com
Branches559 branches across 9 states
Rates

Santander Bank CD rates

3.85% APY
Highest CD · 10 months
$500 minimum
Observed on the bank's site, Sep 26, 2026

Rates are . The national savings average is 0.37% (FDIC, Sep 2026). The top tracked savings rate on Banksparency is 5.50%. Across 59 savings accounts from 58 banks in the Banksparency core savings index, the median advertised rate is 3.65%, and one account in ten advertises 4.03% or more. See the highest savings rates.

Santander Bank CD rates

TermAPYMinimumProduct
10 months3.85%$50010-Month CD
14 months3.85%$50014-Month CD

What Santander Bank pays on deposits

FDIC call report data

This section shows how the bank has priced the savings and money market deposits it already holds, over time. The figure is computed from the interest expense and deposit balances that every bank files with the FDIC in the same form. That is what makes it comparable across banks and across quarters.

2.62%
Q2 2026 ·

In Q2 2026, Santander Bank paid a higher average rate on savings and money market deposits than 87% of banks that reported a figure (FDIC call report). The all-bank median was 1.45%.

2.64%
Q2 2026 ·
$84.4B
Total deposits
Q2 2026
21.6%
Q2 2026
$104.0B
Total assets
Q2 2026
  • Santander Bank, savings and money market
  • All-bank median
Average annualized rate paid on savings and money market deposits, quarterly, Q2 2025 to Q2 2026. A suppressed quarter breaks the line; nothing is interpolated.
How to read these figures

What the average covers. It is an average across the whole bank, taken from its own quarterly FDIC call report. It covers savings accounts and money market deposit accounts, personal and business, at every balance tier. It also covers accounts that were opened years ago and keep the rate of those years. The FDIC line does not separate consumer accounts.

The second figure. The scale row also shows the average across all interest-bearing deposits: savings, interest checking, money market accounts, CDs, personal and business. That figure covers the whole deposit book. The two are shown separately and are not combined.

What the average is useful for. The bank files the data itself, under reporting instructions that are the same for every filer, and the same computation runs for every bank on this site. That makes it comparable in a way that an advertisement is not. Two things on this page read it: the percentile, which shows where the quarter sits among all filers, and the chart, which shows the direction the figure has moved across quarters.

What the average cannot tell you. It cannot tell you the rate that you would earn. No single customer earns the average. For your rate, read the advertised rate above and the rate tables on this page, each with the date it was observed.

What to do next. Use the advertised rate to work out what a new account earns. Use the chart to see how the quarterly average has moved against the all-bank median. Then compare the advertised rate against the current rates on the savings-rate tables before you open an account.

Definitions: · · · ·

Average annualized rates paid on savings and money market deposits, and on all interest-bearing deposits, quarterly. The FDIC line for savings includes money market deposit accounts and business savings deposits and does not separate consumer accounts. Source: FDIC call report data, as reported; it may be amended. The compares all FDIC filers, count-weighted. A missing quarter is suppressed, never interpolated. The percentile counts the banks that paid strictly less on savings and money market deposits, one vote per bank, among the banks that reported a figure for the quarter.

Fine print

So what is the catch?

CDs

ProductTermAPY
10-Month CD10 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
14-Month CD14 months3.85%$500not statednot stated
Behavior

How Santander Bank behaves over time

Santander Bank has not changed its advertised savings rate in the 8 weeks since Banksparency began tracking it, through 1 Federal Reserve rate move.

10 months CD
The same as 30 days ago.

$10,000 at the 3.85% APY Santander Bank advertises on 10-Month CD grows to $10,385 in a year. Prices rose 3.4% in the year to August 2026 (). After a year of prices rising at that pace, it buys as much as $10,044 does today. See how the federal funds rate shapes savings rates.

Santander Bank CD rates over time

Not enough rate history to show a chart. We have CD rates for this bank from one day only. The chart shows when we collect more data.
Identity

Who is Santander Bank?

HeadquartersWilmington, DE
Founded1902
Scale$104.0B assets · $84.4B deposits, $66.2B of it interest-bearing (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Deposit insuranceFDIC insured · Certificate 29950
BBB ratingNot Rated · Not BBB Accredited
AffiliationSantander Bank is a subsidiary of the Spanish Santander Group (BMAD: SAN). Formerly known as Soverigen Bank.
Affiliated institutionOpenbank
Charter stateDelaware · one of 16 insured banks chartered there (Q2 2026, FDIC)
Size32nd-largest by deposits of 4,238 insured banks (Q2 2026, FDIC)

Financial detail is in What Santander Bank pays on deposits above.

FAQ

Common questions about Santander Bank

Is Santander Bank FDIC insured?

Yes. Santander Bank is FDIC insured under certificate 29950, so deposits are covered up to $250,000 per depositor, per ownership category.

Does Santander Bank have branches?

Yes. Santander Bank operates 559 branches according to FDIC branch records, in addition to its website and mobile apps.

Explore

Similar banks and related pages

Other banks chartered in Delaware, nearest to Santander Bank in deposits:

Rate hubs: today's highest savings rates, and CD rates by term.

Rate data is for informational purposes. Banksparency records rates as observed on each bank's website; a change may have occurred before the date it was observed. Verify current rates with the bank before you open an account. FDIC figures come from quarterly call reports, as reported; they may be amended. Banksparency applies identical methodology to affiliate and non-affiliate banks. How Banksparency tracks rates